Thread: astra mk5 strange burning smell

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)

astra mk5 strange burning smell

I have an mk5 astra 1.6 sxi and for a few months now have had a strange smell when i stop/park the car. It tends to happen when the car is warm and when i'm at a junction waiting to pull out or when i'm reversing into the street where i live to park the car etc. I can't really explain the smell as i'm not a mechanical person and have not smelt anything like it before - the closest thing i can describe it to is the smell of burning bacon (bizzare i know but it's the best i've got!). My grandad smelt it once and suggested i check the brakes aren't sticking and if no luck there to check the clutch so that could be a clue as to what the smell is? My dad checked the brakes and clutch and both are fine, he also checked under the bonnet for any other obvious signs, nothing. Anybody have any clues what else to check? It's really irritating me as it feels like i'm just waiting for something to break on it with no clue what! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    That the smell appears in junctions and while reversing, would probably be a result of it being present all the time, but you only smell it at stand still.

Funny it should take a grandad to recognize it, though. It made me feel old (I am not a grandad myself, though). However, I am old enough to remember such a smell - and if you add "stinging type" to your "burning bacon smell" I think we can agree. That could resemble a smell I haven't been smelling in years. It would appear in cold weather (typically 10-15 degrees Celsius below zero) after longer trips at fairly high altitude and many long, ascending hills.

At the time, we never were able to locate the source of it, but it appeared on several cars, not only our cars - and all of them had been travelling long distances like us.