Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Astra h headlight unit not working

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Grindhouse's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Airdrie, North Lanarkshire
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Astra h headlight unit not working

    Hey hope someone can help me!
    Yesterday when driving home my left indicator started clicking twice as fast on the dash so checked the lights and the full left hand side unit has lost power.
    All other lights are working fine and the side indicators on both sides are still working also.
    I only bought the car in January and the left hand headlight was badly scratched so the garage fitted a new unit so I don't think the unit is faulty.
    Ive looked for fuse information but apparently the headlights don't have a fuse?
    Any help would be appreciated guys, thanks.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    chrismc1's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    280
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    There defo fuses for the headlights. They genrally have 1 side of the car on 1 fuse e.g. left side lights front and back on 1 fuse left dipped beam another fuse ect ect. When I blew the side light fuse it was on of them on the fuse holder in the boot. I'd personally just pull the fuses 1 by 1 to see if any have blown. Just remember where they come from as there's loads of spaces with no fuses in them. Hopes this helps

  3. The following members like this post:


  4. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,672
    Mentioned in
    97 Post(s)
    Quoted
    62 Post(s)
    No fuses for the headlights on the MK5. I'd check to see if the plug is seated properally
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason

  5. The following members like this post:


  6. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Grindhouse's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Airdrie, North Lanarkshire
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Cheers guys.
    The fuses all seem fine, got a mechanic having a look at it tomorrow anyways so hopefully we come to a conclusion.

  7. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Grindhouse's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Airdrie, North Lanarkshire
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Ok had the unit out and tested, got all the bulbs on except the indicator which had blown.
    Changed the indicator bulb and its still the same! Getting all lights except indicator

  8. #6
    Status
    Offline
    seancombs's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    72
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Grindhouse View Post
    Ok had the unit out and tested, got all the bulbs on except the indicator which had blown.
    Changed the indicator bulb and its still the same! Getting all lights except indicator
    what was the outcome of this? as i have same problem cheers

  9. #7
    Status
    Online
    kb1974's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Drives
    astra cab 2.2 linea rossa
    Location
    blackpool
    Posts
    2,698
    Mentioned in
    46 Post(s)
    Quoted
    293 Post(s)
    I'm not 100% but try disconnecting the earth for 20/30 mins, it may just reset itself now u have a new bulb in. But only if u have stereo codes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •