Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: MK5 ASTRA 1.7 CDTi - not turning over after filling up

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mjs's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)

    Cool MK5 ASTRA 1.7 CDTi - not turning over after filling up

    Hi guys, Im a new member on this site. Ive owned my 2005 MK5 Astra 1.7 cdti (80) for 2 years now and I am starting to develop some problems. Firstly, after driving into reserve and then filling up, I start the car fine and drive it perfectly however once I park it up and try starting it again it will not turn over. The fuel pump does not even engage (you normally hear it for 2-3 seconds when you switch on your ignition). It trys turning over but just does not start up. However, at times it does start if i keep pressing the accelarator. Other times, I just have to jump start it. Sometimes, it wont even start with cables and I just have to leave it till morning. I recently put a brand new battery into the car after the other failed this March and have also changed the alternator in April. Also another problem I have realised is that when I drive over 65 my engine light comes on and it decreases in power slightly. I rectify this problem by turning it off and on again. Please could someone advise me on these problems?


    Additional info -

    Millege is 140k and I last serviced it in January.

    Thank you very much

    MJS

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    solorider's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    you wont have an electric fuel pump on a 1.7,it is a mechanical engine driven pump only,you need to get your eml codes read,you can do a pedal test on your astra

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    plee1974's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Possibly air in the system or any sign of a fuel leak?????
    55 plate 1.7 Cdti Sxi 80hp I THINK???? Astra Estate

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    mjs's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks guy. How do I do this pedal test? I dont think theres any fuel leak. Still gives me good MPG.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    playamonte's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    ??????
    Have you checked the Oil & Water for any contamination ?, as what you describe could be the engine going into a hydraulic lock.
    1999 Opel Astra estate with the GM low blow engine.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    plee1974's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    To do the pedal test, use the following instructions

    Foot on the brake and the accellerator pedal
    Key into the ignition and turn to position 2 (dash lights up but do not start the engine)
    any stored error codes will be displayed as ECN Numbers in the tacho display.
    Example: When the codes flash up they will show as ECN 112252. Remove the last two numbers as this is the sypmton number and replace the ECN with P. You will be left with P1122. Look down the list for the error code for your diesel engine.
    55 plate 1.7 Cdti Sxi 80hp I THINK???? Astra Estate

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    mjs's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks mate. I did the pedal test and from it I got

    P0335 Crankshaft Position Sensor "A" Circuit Range/Performance B-048*

    P0500 Vehicle Speed Signal Range/Performance B-051*
    P0500 Vehicle Speed Sensor Circuit Incorrect Signal B-051*
    P0500 Vehicle Speed Signal Malfunction (CAN) B-051*
    P0500 Vehicle Speed Signal not plausible with Engine Speed and Injection Mass B-050*

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    mjs's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    It appears that many people get the p0500 code and its to do with the speed sensor. I think mine might be on as I upgraded to the 17" Sri Alloys and ECU has not picked this up?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    karlos78's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    west midlands
    Posts
    662
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    it prob needs a cranksensor had this few times before when the car just cuts out

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    mjs's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    It happend again!!! Its been driving fine since the last time it happend! As i pulled into the petrol station, it just cut out on me and then did not start at all. I left it on the forecourt and returned 3 hours later to let it cool down and it started fine again!!! It defintely must be the cranksensor!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •