Thread: Josh L's Astra Coupe

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Josh L's Astra Coupe

Well im completely new to the Vauxhall scene so lets start with the basics.
    I bought a 2000 Astra Bertone Coupe on an X plate not to long ago with the intention of keeping it standard as i quite liked the way it is anyway, but that soon changed as i got browsing through AOC and kinda liked what i saw.

So here goes...

Its a 1.8 16v, no modifications under the bonnet.
    Silver with Irmscher boot spoiler and rear bumper extentions, other than that its standard.
    Full Black leather interior with heated seats, no mods to the interior...even got original head unit!

First job was to give it a full service and new cam belt.
    After reading up on the air box de-restriction and veccy air intake i decided to go down that route instead of keeping it standard. But me being me i bought the wrong veccy intake pipe (got 9177098 instead of 9177099) turned out to be much larger than the standard pipe and a pain to fit as it wasnt a simple swap, had to adjust a few bits and cut other bits apart! Also put in a K&N panel filter. But all went well in the end.

Next job was the brakes. All the pads were ok but the front disks looked a bit poorly

So the wallet came out again and now they look much better

Stumbled across this whilst browsing ebay, thought i might as well get it to see what it looks like.

Then got these pressed metal plates from good old ebay too, but need to get some irmscher plate holders as i really dont want to drill them.

Really dont like standard lights, and definately going down the HID route when i have the money but currently sorting out getting a house so saving as many pennies as i can. Meanwile i can still play about with different bulbs i had for my previous cars.

Standard sidelights...

Then theres the Amber 5 SMD bulb...

And finally a Bright White 8 SMD Bulb...