Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: o2 sensor problems.

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Carl J's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Unhappy o2 sensor problems.

    The 02 sensor for my car went. Diagnostics show it was bank 1, sensor 1.
    This was left for a while and in the end there were 5 or 6 fault codes all relating to this. Today I had said sensor changed, for a brand new one. And after a few miles, the light came back on, so my mate plugged the diagnostics again and it read bank 1, sensor 1, as before.

    The light goes away when you stop and restart, but then again, comes up later. A 'pending fault code'. As said, this sensor has been replaced with a brand new one, so surely it cant be the sensors worn out.

    Does anyone know if is anything that would upset the sensor, or another reason as to why it shows this fault even with a new sensor?

    Any input would be great. Cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    TRIPLE 8's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,386
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    check wiring plug on loom it plugs into,what is the codes actual description ie heater circuit? and airmass can through up codes for this,does the car run flat at all,if all ok,then checks will have to be done which may relate to a circuit interuption or maybe ecu
    888

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Carl J's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ah okay. The car came with a cone filter which I've not gotten round to putting back to standard as yet, is there any chance this could be causing me issues?

  4. #4
    Status
    Online
    stevej66's Avatar
    Tech Advisor/Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    on the sofa
    Posts
    7,066
    Mentioned in
    52 Post(s)
    Quoted
    240 Post(s)
    possible, it could well have upset the air flow meter

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    bradnixon100's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    O2 sensor problems

    Hi guys have the same problem my self, fitted new sensors in pos 1 and pos 2 and car was running fine for a few days then engine management light came back on and acceleration problems came back with lagging going up hill and surging forward. Can any help as to what could be causing this

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Depends what the codes are.

    The sensor will probably say its lean or rich.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    nry's Avatar
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25,986
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    What car/engine so I can move this to the right section?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    S-T-F-U's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,031
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Im in same boat, had this problem for months. Can't figure it out, Mass Air Flow Sensor is a new one though, where is that sensor located, I'll give it a clean
    Ultra Blue/Astra MK4/1.6-16v/SXi Prodrive
    CLICK FOR MY AUTO-BIO

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Nealey's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    68
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Is it a genuine sensor or aftermarket? I've had new aftermarket sensors that have been wired up wrong before

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    Did he reset the ecu once he fitted the new probe
    As you should reset the learned value

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sensor problems
    By Shanley90 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-04-2013, 23:57
  2. ABS sensor problems
    By ChrisBoom in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17-11-2010, 00:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •