Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Sub/Amp Issues

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Glacious's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    3,101
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Follow Glacious On Twitter Add Glacious on Facebook

    Sub/Amp Issues

    Well I am having abit of trouble at the moment with a new setup I am trying to hook up, basically its all wired in correctly so I believe and no settings have been changed from the previous owners car.

    I have 2 subs being powered by a 4 channel Phoenix Gold Amp, using 2 bridged connections but the bass, well soon as I turn it up it goes all distorted and the bass is off the mega low frequency as well.

    here are a couple of pics of the settings and wiring: I admit my wiring isnt so perfect.





  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Dannyboi16v's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    202
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what subs you running chap are they single or dual voicecoil? and have you double checked every connection?
    Astra G C20XE> http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=290580 < click me for build thread

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Glacious's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    3,101
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Follow Glacious On Twitter Add Glacious on Facebook
    I have used the old wiring I had with my JL Audio equipment so I no thats all ok and the only other connections made are the ones as shown in the above pictures.

    I am running 2 of these:

    HERE

    Also known as Phoenix Gold Octane R 12" D Subwoofers.

    Worked in the previous owners car and soon as in mine for some reason things have taken a downhill turn


  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    beeson1987's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,084
    Mentioned in
    6 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    i had similar issue in my old car, i put the - and + in opposite ones, so the 1st sub runs of say top - bottom + and vise verser, may be worth ago.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Glacious's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    3,101
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Follow Glacious On Twitter Add Glacious on Facebook
    Okie dokie I will give that ago tomorrow as well, its odd because its definitely drawing the power when I turn up the volume as my lights dim rather alot, just doesn't appear to be out putting anything other than very low distorted bass

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    beeson1987's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,084
    Mentioned in
    6 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    id also fit a power cap, as ive got one in my cab and even when on full volume no lights dim.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Glacious's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    3,101
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Follow Glacious On Twitter Add Glacious on Facebook
    I did get one with the install so may do that once I got the subs working I hope.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Dannyboi16v's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    202
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i wouldnt bother with a powercap they do more worse than good, they can't charge quick enough to power the amp at at least a constant 12v. you have a run of 0 guage cable and for the rms figures on your subs you wont need one. only thing i can suggest is to double check everything and make sure all your earths are good etc. also make sure your rca leads are in good condition and make sure the ends have a good connection as they could also add to the problem.
    Astra G C20XE> http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=290580 < click me for build thread

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Glacious's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    3,101
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Follow Glacious On Twitter Add Glacious on Facebook
    I will double check all the connections tomorrow and also might just hook up one sub directly to the amp see if its the speaker wire as at the moment the subs are connection to some plugs in the boot build and then another set of speaker wire from pugs to the amp, Will check RCA's as well as I did have the headunit out the other day and may have come loose.

    Wish I could check today but thats what I get for getting up at 2pm :P

    Hmm one quick question on the amp it has HP - High Pass Filter LP - Low Pass Filter whats does the BY setting stand for??

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    f4af100uk's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,615
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sorry to hear your having problems Craig

    Worked great in my car as Tom seen.

    I would try different leads one by one and see whats happening.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MK5 Issues
    By baillie353 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-11-2011, 17:49
  2. mpg issues
    By Lee66 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20-09-2006, 14:16
  3. few issues
    By gsi_dom in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19-09-2006, 20:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •