Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Instructions How To Install An Amplifier And Sub To A Mk5 With CD30!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Freddie11's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Instructions How To Install An Amplifier And Sub To A Mk5 With CD30!

    Hi All, Yes this is a guide to installing a sub, to a cd30, which people think can not happen with ease! So i am here to help anyone who is thinking about installing it.

    Ok so there is a slight problem of getting a route to the battery supply i simply removed the dashboard, 4 screws and a little tug and its out. I then used a screwdriver to poke a hole threw the rubber to pull the lead through, using a wire coathanger. After which i installed the cable to the positive on the battery. (i am yet to install a power cap)



    i then puttyed the inside as the whole became bigger.

    overall this is how the car looked once i installed the power cable.



    ok so thats that out of the way the next thing is installing the
    Autoleads PC1-601 Line Output Connector avaliable at halfords.


    this means loosing your back speakers however i am currently in the process of trying to reconnect them. using the instructions supplied cut the correct cables on the cd30 it states on the top of the player which leads are which, in total you will cut 4 wires as shown below. the earth cable can be wrapped around the metal case (shown below) inside the cd player slot. once installed this will then connect to the wiring kit (see installation instructions).


    (earth cable)


    (line output cable connector)


    now for the remote start up lead(blue), i am currentley in the process of finding a way of connecting the cable to the ignition as soon as i have completed this i will update this thread, for now i have connected this to the red power cable on the back of the cd player as shown below.



    please note that the best way to wire the amp is to use the passenger side and start installing all the cable around the back of the dashboard, as the wires can be hid under the plastic covering. If you have any question please dont hesitate to message me! Have Fun Astra Club!
    Come On Thee Arsenal!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Nice effort but for a how to i'd like to see wire joins done properally rather than bare twisted wires
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    jiberson's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,239
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    Nice effort but for a how to i'd like to see wire joins done properally rather than bare twisted wires
    Id agree with that anyday!

    Plus i reckon you should just take the remote from ignition live on the stereo

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDesign's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Plus the earth from pc-601 can goto the earth wire on the headunit loom rather than being wraped around a peice of metal.
    08 5Dr Design, De-badged, VXR Style pack, Window Tints

    55 1.7cdti Astra Van

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    jiberson's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,239
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You should earth the amp to a local earth point within the car i.e. if its in the boot then earth to somewhere in the boot.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    billy_r's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    This is exactly how the guy at halfords done mine about 2-3years ago..

    And I have news for you.. good news and some bad but ..

    Try this...Using a stereo phono lead on one end -to- a 3.5mm Jack plug on the other..plug that straight into the phono inputs of the amp..and play it from an ipod or something..just to hear the bass..

    And I kid you not, Massssssive difference..I know this because that is exactly what I was doing today..(After installing my new sub and amp, turned it up and it was a punchy bass and not a deep bass but after hearing that it playing just from an Iphone it made a differnce..

    I didnt want to change the standard headunit..but just hearing the difference in bass quality(depth) it was depressing knowing just how GOOD they could sound just off playing from an ipod let alone a proper head unit.

    So my advice would be...Get a new head unit with proper pre-outs, also because an aftermarket head unit will have a better EQ level and subwoofer level adjustments and that my friend will make a BIG difference to your bass.

    Just my two pence in helping you tryna get the best out of your sound cause were all bass lovers!
    Astra 1.6 SXI

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Freddie11's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I did this to keep my steering wheel controls without paying alot of cash.
    Come On Thee Arsenal!

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    billy_r's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Fair enough, but now you can also get hold of steering wheel controls plugs and also i believe Incartec do one also to keep the dash display so you can alter time and date, but it may depend..there's a thread here that explains it all.
    Astra 1.6 SXI

Similar Threads

  1. Radio Upgrade CD30 to CD30 MP3 help
    By nixoro in forum ICE Zafira Mk1|2 A|B
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-07-2010, 16:27
  2. Swap CD30 for CD30 MP3 - easy?
    By MarkG in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30-04-2009, 12:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •