Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Remote Start Up Lead For Amplifier

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Freddie11's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Cool Remote Start Up Lead For Amplifier

    Hi All,

    I am seeking advice as to where i should place the remote start-up lead for the amp in my CD30, i have connected all the other cables loosing my rear speakers but i am unsure as to where i can apply this cable. Any Advice?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ian_sri's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    there is a ignition wire on the rear of the headunit or behind the glove box there is a loom running up the left hand side red wire is 12v black wire is ignition

    also you dont have to disconnect the rear speackers just tap into them

    also run the RCA's down the other side to the power cable to help stop interferance

    also i seen in your other post you are going to install a power cap dont bother there a waste of time and dont do anything really

    sorry for bad spelling lol

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Freddie11's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheers mate!
    Come On Thee Arsenal!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    low3sy's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3,046
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    there is a spare black wire doing nothing on the cig lighter too,this is easier to get to than pulling the headunit out..

    and as above, you only need to "T off" the rear speakers, as far as running them opposite side to the power cables??? thats the first time ive heard that??
    Quote Originally Posted by fozzie1984 View Post
    but the wife thinks its better to spend money on food and silly things like that.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    d4nz0's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I know this is an old post but yeah, you should always keep power cables and speaker cables separate as they can interfere with each other.

    Can I just double check tho, a couple of you are suggesting T ing off from rear speakers? Wha5 exactly do you mean by this? Running wires from where to where?

    Dannyboy

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    billy_r's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by d4nz0 View Post
    I know this is an old post but yeah, you should always keep power cables and speaker cables separate as they can interfere with each other.

    Can I just double check tho, a couple of you are suggesting T ing off from rear speakers? Wha5 exactly do you mean by this? Running wires from where to where?

    Dannyboy
    Meaning ..splice into the headunit wires which run to the rear speakers for access from the headunit to phono input on amp..u don't need the phono plugs on the headunit end just the wire to wrap around the spliced area on the headunit of the rear speaker wires..implying that you are T'ing off from the rear speakers..so headunit to a T(1 to rear speakers and the other to phono on amp)

    HTH
    Astra 1.6 SXI

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    d4nz0's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    so, you're advising amp'ing an already amp'd signal?

    The signal leaving the head unit going to the rear speakers will already be amp'd to around 40watt max (possibly 15-20 rms).... splitting this wiring to go to a speaker and also an amp input is pretty crazy, just asking for trouble.... this is why head unit have 'preamp outs', specifically for amp'ing up. I would heavily advise against this...... its not a difficult job to get a set of phono leads, plug them into the back of the head unit (assuming your head unit has rca outs), run then down the door trims into the boot (or wherever you have your amp)


    Apologies if I'm misunderstanding your advice again, I hope I am!

    Dannyboy

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Danny factory headunits have no RCA pre outs so people recomend going onto the rear speaker wires with a line convertor
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    d4nz0's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    now using the line converter makes alot more sense. Never used one personally but definitely wouldn't use the methods above without one.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    low3sy's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3,046
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by d4nz0 View Post
    now using the line converter makes alot more sense. Never used one personally but definitely wouldn't use the methods above without one.
    i got one from ebay mate, cost a 10er, does the job perfectly, "t" it into the rear speakers and take the rca jacks to the amp.

    jobs a good'n

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...#ht_2315wt_905
    Quote Originally Posted by fozzie1984 View Post
    but the wife thinks its better to spend money on food and silly things like that.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. remote lead!
    By akcorbin in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-08-2007, 18:52
  2. Remote gain control for a sub amplifier
    By Steve in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 22-04-2004, 12:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •