Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: advice needed, 80mm afm without remap running cr*p

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    bedford8256's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    advice needed, 80mm afm without remap running cr*p

    decided to have a mess about today with my new cdti airbox, the pipe from my turbo to airbox was to big for my standard afm so i plugged in my vxr 80mm afm so see how it was, sounded well but wasnt idling very well so i swapped it back over and now it wont idle, the spanner and traction light have came up on the dash. any ideas how i can sort this? cheers
    X G51 BYE kiss my gsi good bye :P

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    AdamH-SRi-T's Avatar
    SRi Turbo :)
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    8,807
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    any error codes?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    bedford8256's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    havnt plugged anything in yet, nipped home for chippy tea
    X G51 BYE kiss my gsi good bye :P

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Astra Cabby Show Car's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    614
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i am almost certain it will need mapping to suit the 80 afm ..
    Arden Astra Vxr - Courtenay Sport Stage 2 - 284 bhp 337 torque - 3inch Scorpian Turbo Back - Dap R's - CDTI Converstion - Gloss Black TD Pro Race Alloys ..

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    bedford8256's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I just tried it with the diesal airbox and now ive put it back to standard
    and it wont run properly on the 70 mm afm?
    X G51 BYE kiss my gsi good bye :P

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Astra Cabby Show Car's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    614
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bedford8256 View Post
    I just tried it with the diesal airbox and now ive put it back to standard
    and it wont run properly on the 70 mm afm?
    reset the ecu. unplugged the battery for 25mins
    Arden Astra Vxr - Courtenay Sport Stage 2 - 284 bhp 337 torque - 3inch Scorpian Turbo Back - Dap R's - CDTI Converstion - Gloss Black TD Pro Race Alloys ..

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Rainey88's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Scarborough, North Yorks
    Posts
    890
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Going to say do what Cabby's just said , should clear itself and sort itself out if you have put the standard AFM back in .

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    have you plug the AFM in with the arrow pointing to the turbo
    no need to unplug the battery

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    bedford8256's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Left it for 10 Mins and its sorted itself, cheers guys
    X G51 BYE kiss my gsi good bye :P

Similar Threads

  1. Advice needed when changing to 80mm afm
    By reavill in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-03-2011, 02:07
  2. Advice needed: New engine, Remap, Driving, MOT
    By Jonesy in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-05-2007, 02:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •