Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Ipod 3rd Generation Head Unit

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    KingKiller's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Unhappy Ipod 3rd Generation Head Unit

    Im looking to replace my standard headunit in my 2006 1.6 Astra and i wanted to know if anyone has a doulbe din head unit that works with the 64gb 3rd generation ipod touch.

    Every one i find that i like only supports up to the 2nd genaration ipods.

    If anyone has one can they provide links to there's or others that are avalible.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    have a look at the alpine units
    I have a ida x100 that works fine

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    What headunits have you been looking at as most of them support the later ipods now with the different charging systems
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    alpine w900

    Click here if you cannot see the above video...

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    KingKiller's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for the quick responses.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    KingKiller's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    dannysport18 the alpine units look good, thanks for the info, was looing at this one

    http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/alpin...r-p-15060.html

    The question i have is what colour facsia kit is required as they have one that is a connects 2 one in chrome metallic, it's quite hard from the image to work out wether this will match my interior which im guessing is more of a metallic silver colour, is this the same or would i be better getting the kit from esle were?

    Also would i only require this lead + patch lead to retain all of the steering and display functions?

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ALPINE-VAUXHAL...item3a542bfd47

    Thanks for the help.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    That lead will keep your steering wheel controls and the ability to change the time/date etc on the display but won't show any radio data on the top display
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    KingKiller's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well i have all the required items now. Stereo, Airiel Amp, Facsia and connects steering harness.

    After reading the guide from this site it makes it seem a straight forward process to swap the Headunit but i have found that i have so many lose wires that ar'nt connected to anything that im finding the process a little daunting now.

    Has anyone used a company to fit their stereo and if so how much did it cost (approx) to get done?

    Im worried about cutting and connecting the wrong wires.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Where are you based? A local member might be able to help out

    Expect a company to charge no more than a hours labour, maybe around £40? It really is simple to fit though and if you post pictures of all the wiring layed out we could help you on what plugs where
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    KingKiller's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for the help, i will try to get pictures uploaded tomorrow, been abit hetic today.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Ipod docking head unit
    By Wiggles. in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 23-10-2009, 12:10
  2. Head Unit/Ipod Combo
    By Al in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-09-2008, 19:03
  3. Head unit / iPod help
    By glynmitch in forum Zafira Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29-12-2007, 21:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •