Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: not enough power

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    stevehinton's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    not enough power

    hi i have 2 inphase xt12 1400wt 700rms subs and a 1200wt amp which is like 600wts 2 each sub which is under half of what the sub can handle i am looking for a amp that will diliver around 1000wts 2 each sub but i want it to have a remote bass controller on it so i can controll the bass when driving and also havent got alot of budget but want a good amp that will run good sounds any one got any ideas

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    stevehinton's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    just looked as a vibe slick a4 amp they are 2000wt and have a remote bass any one got one or herd anything about them ?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    joshnosh's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,315
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    there good amps for the price
    there the higher end off the vibe range
    if your happy with buying vibe then that should satisfies your needs
    if it ant broke, don't fix it.....mod it! MK4 flip keys £13.99

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    stevehinton's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    y is vibe not really one of the good makes ?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Metaphizix's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Not really. Vibe is majorly aiming at entry level car audio. Plus, the Vibe A4 is made for door speakers and 6x9s. It will under-power your subs HEAVILY.

    These are the rated specs of the A4:

    • 4-channel Amplifier (bridgeable into 2 or 3 channels)
    • RMS output @ 4ohm: 4 x 150w
    • RMS output @ 2ohm: 4 x 250w
    • RMS output @ 4ohm: 2 x 500w (into 2 channels)
    • RMS output @ 4ohm: 2 x 150W + 1 x 500W RMS (into 3 channels)

    That means, it will give 4 channels 150Watts running at 4ohms, or 4 channels 250Watts running at 2ohms....and then obviously if you combine two channels of the amp together, it gives 2 channels 500 watts at 4ohms.... so on and so forth. So the best you'll get out of this amp is 500 Watts RMS for each XT12 seeing as the XT12 has a single 4ohm voice coil.

    Amps that can push clean power of up to 1000RMS per channel will take you easily past the 500 quid mark.

    Plus, your subs are not rated to handle 1000 watts mate. The XT12 can handle continuous power of 700 watts RMS. The 1400 figure is what it can handle before it burns out. The maximum you want to push through those is 650-700 watts RMS at a push.

    The only thing I can find at the moment offering similar specs as the vibe and in a similar price category...but much more fit for purpose is this one right here
    http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro..._id/13029.html

    Hope that helps!
    MetaPower

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    stevehinton's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok then thats a help thasnks but sorry if im being stupid but does the soundstrom amp not have the same rms rating as the vibe amp at 500rms ? whats the difference in both amps ?
    thanks

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    stevehinton's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    and alos if my tx-12s can only handle 1400wts of power tilll they burn out and this amp is 3000 wts will it not blow the subs up ?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Metaphizix's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The difference is that the soundstorm amp is an independent 2 channel amp. It is designed for sub use. The vibe is a 4 channel and would be pushed harder/ be under more stress than the other as its not built for that purpose.
    In terms of peak power, as the sub burns out when pushed beyond 1400 watts, similarly, the amp's rated to push 3000 watts before its no good.
    No problem mate...just remember that the RMS ratings are the ones that count...anything else in terms of power is useless.
    MetaPower

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Metaphizix's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Also if your sub box is ported, you'll need an even more powerful amp
    MetaPower

Similar Threads

  1. Supplying power to drls from two power sources - astra Sri 2006 1.9
    By markfordham in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31-08-2014, 23:30
  2. Matzel power power box info needed
    By Kev_mk3 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-12-2005, 10:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •