Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Gear / Clutch problem & Glow plugs???Help...please

Hi guys.

I've bought an astra 1.7 1996 p plate diesel - the dealer saw me coming and i've little knowledge about cars, couple of issues have cropped up and i can't really afford garage prices so looking for some help, info and any guidance really.

and...excuse me for being dumb....and for asking stupid questions (you need me to program a robot to dance or sort your pc & im on it, change oil in a car...not a fking clue )

the two issues i've got have gotten more complicated i think...before it seemed to be one or theother now options have increased.

With the gears....

When the engine is tunred off, the gears move freely into place, it's only when the clutch is depressed with engine turned on that theres agro getting it into 1st and 2nd, one of the guys at work has now said this could be the clutch?! but its only the 1st and 2nd gears....any thoughts?

With the glow plugs...the car is a bitch to start when it's cold, which i appreciate for it's age, i can maybe 'heat' it up 3-4 times before getting a hint of life out it, it struggles, smokes a bit and then putters into life (has a new battery) - but once it's started and ben running for a minute or two it then starts every time. earlier it was left outside work for 3 hours in the cold after a 5 minute drive (so i assume its cold) and started 1st go. so...is it just me expecting it to start straight away, do those plugs need changing or coudl it be something else?

I'm screwed, money is real tight and i don't want to spend only to realise that there wasn't an issue in the first place.

Any help is hugely appreciated.

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Id agree with clutch on the first point, will probably be the thrust bearing on its way out.

And does sounds like the glow plugs arent working to their best

Status
    AOC Newbie