Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Headunit power issue.

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    bryceneilsen's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Headunit power issue.

    Ok. Brand new pioneer p5200bt arrived yesterday. I have plugged in acc, power and ground(chassis attempted and brown cable) and no power. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    bryceneilsen's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Fuse on device and on car are fine. As stated old headunit is working with same cables

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    There's 2 fuses on the car, check number 21 and 34
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    bryceneilsen's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Autosparks,

    I will check.. but one headunit is working and one isnt. I've been swapping them to make sure this isnt the issue.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    bryceneilsen's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have also plugged it into a workdesk at work that has a 12v power supply, but only provides 3amps. Not sure if that is enough to power the HU.. I have confirmed with a multimeter that the connector that plugs into the HU has 12v. It doesn't appear to be a fuse related issue.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    GSI TURBO LEEDS's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    946
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    try putting seperate earth to side of hu as this worked for me also you can try connect the red + to the yellow memory on hu this will cause no damage dont worry, hope this is of some help to you

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    bryceneilsen's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    All good. Had an external PSU that had to be plugged in.

    Pain in the arse.

    Bryce

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-06-2013, 09:52
  2. Headunit fuse issue.
    By tenstar5 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-07-2009, 14:39

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •