Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: MK4 Temp Sensor Issue

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    matt_hilluk's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    439
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    MK4 Temp Sensor Issue

    past couple of days the temp displaying on the car has been going up and down like mad, changing numbers every few seconds

    today its just showing -.--

    does this just mean i need a new one, if so how much do they cost?

    thanks
    Astra MK4 SRi-Turbo with Courtenay Sport Tuned Z20LEH VXR 888 Sport Maxx Engine

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Linea Oro's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,884
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Probably the thermostat that's stuck open.
    A new thermostat doesn't cost much. I paid £35 for mine from www.vauxhallworldparts.com.

    Changing it is rather easy unless you've got the 8v.
    Daily driver: =The Linea Oro - Gold Line Coupe=
    Summer drive: '05 Speedster Turbo - Build number 4798
    Got a turbo in my life - now I'm broke

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    matt_hilluk's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    439
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i just mean the sensor that goes in the front grille?

    not the other kind of thermastat... ive got a cool running thermastat on my zlet
    Astra MK4 SRi-Turbo with Courtenay Sport Tuned Z20LEH VXR 888 Sport Maxx Engine

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    phil w's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,089
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I would say that yours has give up the ghost mate , I don't know how much they cost can't be to expensive surely , Give AutoVaux or LMF a go before the dealers , I wouldn't have thought the run of the mill motor factors would sell them

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    dalesony's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    159
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi, I had exactly the same fault on my gsi, it is definatley the temp sensor located on the right hand side of the engine when you open the bonnet i got mine from the dealers only cheap never had a problem since Thanks Dale

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    they are about 4 quid or so on ebay

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    phil w's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,089
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dalesony View Post
    Hi, I had exactly the same fault on my gsi, it is definatley the temp sensor located on the right hand side of the engine when you open the bonnet i got mine from the dealers only cheap never had a problem since Thanks Dale
    You seem a little confused , the sensor in question is for temp outside the car which is located in the front bumper grile , not the one on the engine
    read the thread properly

Similar Threads

  1. Temp Sensor Issue - Constant Problems
    By chrizza2.0sri in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-04-2012, 23:33
  2. Asta h pollen, outdoor temp sensor, coolant sensor locations please
    By Jattxx in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-01-2011, 23:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •