Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Will this stereo fit in my Astra 1.8 Convertable 2005

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mikesmart's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Will this stereo fit in my Astra 1.8 Convertable 2005

    Hi

    I own a Vauxhall Astra 1.8 Convertable 2005 and I wanted to know whether this stereo sony mex3800bt will fit in the car.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks, Mike

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    iain863's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,769
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Your stereo is single din
    Assuming you have Mk4 Convertiable, it will be Single din slot in your car?

    If answer above is yes, then as long you have a stereo cage, it will fit in.
    Disclaimer - some of the above text may actually be sarcasm (believe it or not!)

    Astra 02, SRi 1.8i - Irmscher'd up (a bit) with Zebra front bumper


  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It will fit but you will loose the steering wheel controls unless you get a 'stalk adapter' and wire that in too.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    mikesmart's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi Lee,

    Thanks for replying.

    Where would I get a "Stalk adapter" from, how much would one be and also would I loose the remote display functionality?

    Should of mentioned it earlier sorry, also have four cd changer, would that still work?

    Sorry not really into I.C.E in a big way.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    captpicard's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,540
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i have the 3600 version in my cabby, brought it originally from halfords also brought the adapter to use the steering wheel controls, think it cost about £15??

    so yes it will fit......
    well it fits my cabby 2006 plate mk4 (g)

    1.8 excluciv convertible '06 (silver lightninig)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    mikesmart's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi captpicard,

    Good news thanks alot.

    Does the remote display work and also any idea on the cd changer.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    captpicard's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,540
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mikesmart View Post
    Hi captpicard,

    Good news thanks alot.

    Does the remote display work and also any idea on the cd changer.

    Thanks
    if you mean does the controls light up on the steering wheel, then yes they do if i use the radio, but if i use the cd or aux then the lights go out -controls still work those.dont no about the cd changer, as i dont have one of those...
    the display on the mdf just shows time, date temp.....
    hope this helps
    1.8 excluciv convertible '06 (silver lightninig)

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    mikesmart's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi captpicard,

    Thanks a lot, you have answered all my questions.

    Mike

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Andyman2008's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    captpicard, awesome centre console mate!

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You can get the very top display working with this headunit but it will be costly....

    The factory CD changer won't work with this headunit or any aftermarket one
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •