Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Should I disable ABS

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Fraggle's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,038
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Should I disable ABS

    The drivers side hub isn't working at all, the wires to it have snapped.

    I was driving down a bit of an hill, and lightly touched the brakes because of an oncoming bus. the car just pulled straight into the kerb, so bang we go up against the kerb.

    Do you think I'd be better off disabling it until I sort the hub out, as I'm thinking if I do have to brake then the left brake is going to pulse on and off, so that side locking will just pull me to that side. where if they were both working it would be even?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    MartinCoupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    923
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    get your car fixed as its clearly not road worthy in that condition and you knowing that could also cause serious injury to many people around you.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Linea Oro's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,884
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The brakes would work better if they're even, so yes it would be better if you disable it. But then again, you need to be even more careful when driving. You're braking distance would be a lot longer if the wheel locks!

    My ABS is disabled now, because of the same problem. As soon as I get the wheel hub fixed (it's bloody cold outside now) I'll get the ABS sorted
    Daily driver: =The Linea Oro - Gold Line Coupe=
    Summer drive: '05 Speedster Turbo - Build number 4798
    Got a turbo in my life - now I'm broke

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Fraggle's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,038
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It's being done next week. from what I've been reading anyway the ABS and TC is already disabled if it's not plugged in. (scrap that. it must be still working if I can feel the pedal)

    Linea. did you pull the F5 fuse under the bonnet?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Linea Oro's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,884
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well, I should mention that it doesn't work at all

    I get the ABS/Traction control lights when I turn the ignition, I switch it off and on again and they disappear. I've experienced that the engine dies whenever I push the clutch and those two lights are on, but not when they're off. I've tried a brake test and can confirm that the ABS doesn't work, so I always extra space to the car in front!

    I got the hub, but haven't got around fitting it yet because of the cold weather mentioned.
    Daily driver: =The Linea Oro - Gold Line Coupe=
    Summer drive: '05 Speedster Turbo - Build number 4798
    Got a turbo in my life - now I'm broke

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    200TI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    139
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If the lights for the ABS and TC are on then those systems will be disabled anyway (same if Airbag ligh is on)

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    cornishtaz's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,647
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Is the speedo signal taken from the passengers ABS sensor, so disabling the system would prevent the speedo working once again your not allowed to drive a vehicle with a non working speedo

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Fraggle's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,038
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by 200TI View Post
    If the lights for the ABS and TC are on then those systems will be disabled anyway (same if Airbag ligh is on)
    They are both on but the ABS still kicks in. I can feel it through the pedal as normal.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Fraggle's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,038
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cornishtaz View Post
    Is the speedo signal taken from the passengers ABS sensor, so disabling the system would prevent the speedo working once again your not allowed to drive a vehicle with a non working speedo
    Speedo comes from the passenger. I don't know if taking out the F5 fuse will disable just the ABS and not the speedo. won't know until I try it.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    gissyturbo!'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,098
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Think i fixed mine for about 60 quid mate get it fixed prang th motor or kill some kid cause car wont stop and 60 quid will seem F^^k all.

    Shouldnt be on road pal sorry

Similar Threads

  1. Disable EGR on car with DPF?
    By astractive in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-2013, 14:58
  2. How to disable the alarm
    By woz9 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-08-2009, 21:49
  3. Can I disable the alarm ?
    By Sten in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-04-2006, 23:01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •