Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: fmic fitting to coupe turbo

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Gsi Jase's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3,066
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    fmic fitting to coupe turbo

    ok guys buying my brother one for his coupe and am fitting it....

    its coupe with cope bumper guna buy jbi one 57mm kit..

    he wants to run courtney stage 4 after crimbo this any good and any thing i need to no about fitting?

    move rad bk? cut bumper? as when i had my gsi it just needed fogs trimming a tad and nothing else

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    B12 NXY COUPE's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,015
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    buy some vxr rad mounts from vaux about £10 and it will give you more room.

    i have 57mm on my 888 had to trim the bumper slats slighty but not much

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    vauxtillidie's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    690
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    u dont need to buy the vxr rad mounts theres 2 bolts on the standard ones just undo them move em back and use the one bolt works fine gives you plenty of room

    as for the coupe bumper im not sure if you will need to trim it atall, i did it on my old sri t and the only place it touched a bit was round the fog lights
    2006 Astra VXR, Flame Red, 19's, AFL, Cruise Control, CD70 + Aux in, CID, Bluetooth, Powerfold Mirrors, DDS/TPMS, Sight & Light, Check Control, Speed Locking

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    B12 NXY COUPE's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,015
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vauxtillidie View Post
    u dont need to buy the vxr rad mounts theres 2 bolts on the standard ones just undo them move em back and use the one bolt works fine gives you plenty of room

    as for the coupe bumper im not sure if you will need to trim it atall, i did it on my old sri t and the only place it touched a bit was round the fog lights
    like i said mate you will need to trim the coupe bumper, do a search its the least accommodating bumper on a astra, the sri-t is the most accommodating and you had to trim yours

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Gsi Jase's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3,066
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanx to advice chaps, am sure once on ramps and ill no the clearence. just wanted to no what to luk out for

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    f4af100uk's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,615
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The best thing to do Jase is just try it and see.

    When i had my old coupe with gsi front i didnt have to move the rad or trim the bumper
    But when we did my brothers coupe with gsi front we had to do both.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Gsi Jase's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3,066
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by f4af100uk View Post
    The best thing to do Jase is just try it and see.

    When i had my old coupe with gsi front i didnt have to move the rad or trim the bumper
    But when we did my brothers coupe with gsi front we had to do both.
    cheers lee. i guess ill see when i come to it i can memeber reading that u need to move rad bk and trim bumper but didnt no if owt else

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Rainey88's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Scarborough, North Yorks
    Posts
    890
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Iv just changed rad on my coupe and cant understand how people mean by moving the rad back when putting a fmic on mine was a right squeeze between air con :/

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    B12 NXY COUPE's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,015
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    the rad sits on mounts that are on subframe, the mounts have a rubber insert you can get about 20,30mm movement

Similar Threads

  1. fitting fmic to coupe
    By johnnyw in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2012, 10:22
  2. FMIC fitting to MK5 turbo.
    By Batesy16 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 12:16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •