Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Broken Key Fob

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    astra_mk4_89's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Broken Key Fob

    Hi, I wonder if anyone could help me, I have a two button remote key fob and I want to change it to a new one. Can I put the transponder from the old key into the new one and reprogramme it myself by holding down the two buttons while turning the key in the ignition?

    Also, does any of the keys hold any of the management system information like the ford keys hold?

    It is for an 55 Astra Van.

    Many thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yes the theory stands up to a certain point...ie transfer the transponder chip and key blade over to the new remote fob....

    BUT

    it will need pairing up to your car using diagnostic equipment

    if u ask in ur local regional forum on here then someone with opcom can do the necessary for you

    you can either use a brand new fob or a used fob

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Goran_m_pg's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    302
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well, when you move transponder to other key, it will work with no problem i guess, but as for the remote...

    Is it totaly broken, that board in it, or it is only plastic and rubber?
    You can buy from ebay that plastic cover, so you could use your existing key with it.
    When it comes to totaly new remote, than it would need programing, OPCOM can do it.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    astra_mk4_89's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The key works fine and starts just the key is very loose, I took the key apart and the only problem I have is there is a small part of the unlock botton is missing (the small part which clicks) Does anyone have a key fob which the dont need (Broken) ? Many Thanks in advanced. P.S know do you upload a pic if you dont know what im talking about

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You can buy new switches on ebay if you can solder.

    Done loads now.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    astra_mk4_89's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    it dosent need to be soldered. it fine on the board, just missing a small piece at the top which is silver with a clear button on the top.

Similar Threads

  1. help ... very broken arrow , broken rocker arm ..
    By van in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-02-2011, 18:30
  2. Is my fan broken???
    By FocusOnScott in forum Interior
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-12-2010, 11:22
  3. Key Fob Broken
    By Shortyy in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 22-10-2008, 20:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •