Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: installing cd

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Hal 1's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    installing cd

    Hi
    Can anyone help me with a simple answer ? will i have to spoil the cage that my head unit fits into to remove it or is there some way of getting it out without, the new cd head unit wont match the astra cage, any help appreciated.

    Regards hal

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Hal the old cage has a screw in the back holding it in then I find if you bend it top and bottom to the middle it slides out because it can be easy bent back in shape
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDempsey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,365
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You will need to change the cage to that of the one that was supplied with your new headunit. The standard cage can be removed by taking out the torx srew located at the rear of the cage (T25 IIRC), remove that and the cage will slip right out.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Hal 1's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi
    Thanks guys
    Sorry about this but I should have given a bit more detail, i'd taken the screw out and managed to get the cage about half way before it stopped, will i have to remove the plugs somehow before it comes out all the way ?

    Maybe i'll bend the thing a bit more and just pull harder, the only thing i'm worried about is damaging the wiring with my clumsy efforts.

    Thanks again, Hal

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The cage goes to solid metal again at the back and can sometime lock up again as your finding. It's uaually just a couple of mm thats holding it back
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Hal 1's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi
    you were right auto, i slid a steel rule in to help it on it's way, so now i'm sorted, i got the cage out went to maplins for an adaptor lead so i could try it all and all's ok, i'm just about to cut the wire to allow the date to display when the radio's on, although it's no big deal if it doesn't work.

    Many thanks guys

    Hal

Similar Threads

  1. Help installing ICE
    By futur3 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-03-2008, 00:43
  2. installing another amp help!
    By LIAM-SXI in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2006, 15:41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •