Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: got off the phone to turbo dynamics

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ashwrx's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    got off the phone to turbo dynamics

    my turbo is not fixable.oil was contamanited,anyone ever heard off that,so getting a new turbo now,,whats the vxr turbo like

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    DiscoFred's Avatar
    Hulk smash!!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13,342
    Mentioned in
    24 Post(s)
    Quoted
    25 Post(s)
    Yeah most people fit VXR turbos as they are better than the LET ones.

    Out of interest, what did they charge for that and are they sending it back to you?


  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    ashwrx's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    only cost me delivery,they are sending it back to me

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    DiscoFred's Avatar
    Hulk smash!!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13,342
    Mentioned in
    24 Post(s)
    Quoted
    25 Post(s)
    That is is quite good.

    If you are getting a brand new VXR turbo, then TD can uprate it for you. It will cost ~£150 so long as it is brand spanking new and never fitted or primed.

    It should make it much stronger and more reliable. There are tons of threads about uprating the turbo, have a search for more information.


  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    ashwrx's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    how do you prime the turbo

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    f4af100uk's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,615
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Have they ever actualy a used turbo as i seem to hear the above alot.

    You need to fill the turbo with oil before turning the engine over.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    DiscoFred's Avatar
    Hulk smash!!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13,342
    Mentioned in
    24 Post(s)
    Quoted
    25 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by f4af100uk View Post
    Have they ever actualy a used turbo as i seem to hear the above alot.
    Come again

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    He means....always hear of TD refusing, or having to refurb units sent to them for upgrade

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    DiscoFred's Avatar
    Hulk smash!!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13,342
    Mentioned in
    24 Post(s)
    Quoted
    25 Post(s)
    Ah right doh!

    I sent mine off for both at the same time. I was getting it refurbed, so it was only a little more for the uprated parts to be fitted as part of the refurb.

    The turbo needs to stripped down to fit the uprated parts, it makes sense that it needs cleaning, so they tell you they need to refurb it aswell and get more money . All the turbo specialists do the same...

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    f4af100uk's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,615
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by npd View Post
    Come again
    Sorry my shite english there

    I was just wondering if they have ever actualy refurbed/uprated a used turbo theyve been sent.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 360 Degree Thrust Bearing for VXR Turbo by Turbo Technics or Turbo Dynamics
    By npfman in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25-11-2009, 11:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •