Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Alpine head unit with custom background ?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ScottM_SMS's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Alpine head unit with custom background ?

    Was wondering if anyone knew how to change the default background on their alpine screen/Head unit?

    I have an Alpine IVA-D105R and i seen someone with the same head unit with a picture of their own car in the background instead of the default blue screen.

    I'v been reading that you it you have to put the picture you want on a cd then put the cd into the unit. Something about the picture has to be ".apn" format.
    https://i-personalize.alpine.com/i-P...ting_info.html

    But not really sure how to do it.

    If someone has already changed their own background and could share it with me on how to do it, would be much appreciated.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    There are many available from your link
    (so it says, since I dont have a log in I cant see past front page!!!)

    Found this also:
    "you can burn a max of 7 different wallpapers to the root of a disk (cant remember if cd or dvd) then load it via the ipersonlize menu

    iirc there is a website out there with loads of wallpapers already dont for you to put to disk

    nb: its not as simple as finding a nice wallpaper, burning to disk and loading it up.

    Please make your images meet the following requirements:
    Resolution: 720x480
    JPG or PNG format
    Less than 1MB (remember this needs to compress to at least 32k!)"

    So maybe it's a case of renaming the jpg as an apn...
    Maybe they have a utility to convert any picture to a suitable format...

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    ScottM_SMS's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I dont think its as easy as renaming the format to .apn there's more to it. Anyway done my research a found someone who converted loads of pics to .apn for people with alpine units here

    http://www.pride-rock.com/index.html

    also found the proof it can be done by the guy that makes the pictures


    I downloaded the pictures i wanted and put them onto a cd-r disk and tried to load the disc into an alpine 105r but it just says "disc error"

    Anyone tried this and been successful ?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    ScottM_SMS's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    also found this, different alpine unit but same idea, close to figuring it out lol.


    Click here if you cannot see the above video...

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    gregpot2000's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi Mate

    You want to take a look at this thread:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...ine+wallpapers

    This is what I have used and it works great, it's really simple, you upload your picture to that website, it converts it for you, and then you just put in on a USB memory stick and plug it into your USB socket on the unit. Then go through the options and it should recognise it, once it's done it will store it meaning you can plug your Ipod etc back in.

    thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Alpine Head unit
    By pandy007 in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17-01-2008, 00:10
  2. Alpine Head Unit
    By Danny_ in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26-08-2007, 01:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •