Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Engine Computer Light and Limp Mode - 1999 1.8 Auto

Hi all,

Newbie here. I'm not the actual Astra owner myself (I usually hang out on www.mocgb.net myself - can I say that here???) - it is my estranged wifes car that has the problem but I am hoping that someone here can shed some light for us.

Every now and then the Engine computer light comes on and the car seems to go into limp home mode - the revs drop and if you brake too sharply the car will cut out as the revs drop too much. If you switch it off, give it 5 minutes or so and try again all is fine once more and the car will run absolutely fine for a while again.

Seems to be worse after longer journeys and if the driving style is more "aggressive" (quick pull away from lights / roundabouts, harsh acceleration etc) - sedate driving does not seem to exhibit the problem - it has been getting more frequent of late (maybe more harsh driving of late???).

We tried the pedal test to get a diagnostic code out of the car (found by searching here on Friday), however we could not get this to work and the light did not flash at all, alas .

The car is a 1999 Astra 1.8 Auto Petrol. If anyone has any ideas what could be occurring here I would be keen to hear. I had a quick scoot through here on Friday - seems to be a common occurrence but no-one seems to give a definitive answer, although I guess there could be many reasons why it happens.

Some pointers would be helpful.

Thanks in advance to all for any assistance / guidance.

Regards

TMW

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    All,

As an update, just found this:-

http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=145193

Can anyone advise if the valve is in the same location on the 1999 1.8 engine, or if not advise where it is?

Thanks in advance.

TMW

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)