Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: is it worth buying a aftermaket ECU?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    sprdan's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,864
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    is it worth buying a aftermaket ECU?

    I no my ECU is on its way out with no signal going to the rev counter temp gauge and the little screen in centre of the dash.

    so does anyone think its worth buying a aftermarket ECU?
    vxr turbo, FMIC, TX tophat and powerpipe and remap from noblemotersport. 271.5 bhp and 331 lbft. http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=332537

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    sprdan's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,864
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    anyone? i need advise asap
    vxr turbo, FMIC, TX tophat and powerpipe and remap from noblemotersport. 271.5 bhp and 331 lbft. http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=332537

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    afcbadam's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,573
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    its not really worth the hassel tbh mate, id stick with standard
    Astra T9 estate for sale, see my ebay link!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    sprdan's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,864
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    my standard one is broken the temp gauge, rev counter, and centre screen mdf dnt work
    vxr turbo, FMIC, TX tophat and powerpipe and remap from noblemotersport. 271.5 bhp and 331 lbft. http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=332537

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    afcbadam's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,573
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    i ment id buy another standard one mate, not a aftermarket one.
    Astra T9 estate for sale, see my ebay link!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    AdamH-SRi-T's Avatar
    SRi Turbo :)
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oxford, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    8,807
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    surely if you brought an aftermarket ecu you have to get everything else aftermarket i.e standalone management?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    define "aftermarket ECU" ?

    if u mean standalone management then good luck unless u know someone who can do it! A local tuner to us can do em for about £1500 but i think that was mates rates

    If its definitely a fried ECU then you can get a ECU and transponder set on ebay for a few hundred quid.... surely this is the realistic option or have i missed something

    that is unless your current issues can be fixed without assuming its the ECU at fault?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    andy-h-'s Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the 1.0 litre corsa ecu is the same part number cant you just use one of them ?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Daz coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    677
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Titan Gold Coupe Turbo
    Stage 3.5

    Clicky Here

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    You can get a new vxl ecu for £250 all in a good after Market setup will be a lot better for power but your looking at around £1500 to £2000

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Has anyone see this ?? worth buying ?
    By anobrega in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 30-12-2010, 14:48

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •