Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: What i only just noticed about the MK5 Astra lol

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Kev.'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    9,820
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

    What i only just noticed about the MK5 Astra lol

    Bit slow on the uptake here, but i was looking at the prices of some & i've noly just realised they have no temp guage.

    How do you get by for the temp reading then?

    The only reason i knew mine needed the thermostat (MK4 btw) was because the temp guage NEVER lifted off rock bottom.

    If i'd had the same problem in a MK5, i imagine i'd have kept rolling with a knackered 'stat?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you have to scroll through the display by pressing one of the buttons - cant be arsed going into detail but you get a rather crap readout indicated on the dash iirc

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    KevT.'s Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bradford
    Posts
    9,218
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    15 Post(s)
    does the var not come with a temp gauges or am i just totally wrong?

    AOC top 15 car at PVS 2009 & 2010
    313.7bhp/343Ibft


  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    AussieAstra's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    257
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'm not sure about the VXR, but I know other Mk5s don't have one, the temperature displayed on the BID/GID is only the outside temperature, to get the engine temp you have to go into the diagnostics menu (hold down Settings on your head unit until you hear a beep and then use the BC button to scroll through the screens until you find the temp, there's a load of other stuff in there as well)
    "Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like all Hell" - Peter Brock
    My ride: 2007 Holden AH (Mk5) Astra CDX 1.8 A4

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Kev.'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    9,820
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    All seems a bit sh!tty & long winded to me. Surely it wouldn't have been difficult to design the set of clocks with a temp gauge. Hey ho. I just assumed in 2004 we'd be having temp gauges.

    Not something that'd stop me getting one. I just wondered if any variants had one. I guess not.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    EazyDuz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Probably because its not really important. Like a temp gauge isnt something that needs to be taking up room and something you always have visible.
    A car running properly wont be too cold or too hot so you would only need to check up on it every now and then.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    "not really important" ?

    Id say its one of the most vital gauges possible

    as for "car running properly...." well how you supposed to know if the gauge isnt visible

    massive oversight imo - if i had a mk5 then id be fitting a gauge pretty much straight away - not exactly difficult either

    again though,, this is just IMO. If most ppl disagree then so be it - shit happens

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    EazyDuz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GeordieBandit View Post
    "not really important" ?

    Id say its one of the most vital gauges possible

    as for "car running properly...." well how you supposed to know if the gauge isnt visible

    massive oversight imo - if i had a mk5 then id be fitting a gauge pretty much straight away - not exactly difficult either

    again though,, this is just IMO. If most ppl disagree then so be it - shit happens
    I dont know to be honest, but at least you can still access the temp.
    I left you a PM about neons by the way lol.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Kev.'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    9,820
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    Agreed, i'd say a temp gauge is pretty important.

    But if you classified that as not important, then surely other things would come into the same bracket:

    clock
    rev counter
    electric windows
    air con
    SW controls
    i could go on. All the above surely can't be "important" IF the temp gauge isn't important?


    Quote Originally Posted by GeordieBandit View Post

    massive oversight imo - if i had a mk5 then id be fitting a gauge pretty much straight away - not exactly difficult either
    This comment brings 2 questions to mind:

    1. How would you do it?

    2. Has anyone on here done it?

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    EazyDuz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kev_83 View Post
    Agreed, i'd say a temp gauge is pretty important.

    But if you classified that as not important, then surely other things would come into the same bracket:

    clock
    rev counter
    electric windows
    air con
    SW controls
    i could go on. All the above surely can't be "important" IF the temp gauge isn't important?




    This comment brings 2 questions to mind:

    1. How would you do it?

    2. Has anyone on here done it?
    Wow thats a bit ott.
    Clock, not important imo
    Rev counter, important for economical driving, or bite points for new drivers. Good reference for gear changes.
    Elec windows, important as they are a nice feature, easier than winding them up and down, less effort.
    Air con. Important for hot days, and de misting.

    Temp gauge, you cant physically do anything with it or use it for anything like your other examples. Like if it shows the car isnt running at operating temp, what can you do with that information? If its running too hot, what can you do with that information? If it gets hot, you would hear the fan kick in, or probably a warning light on the newer Astras. If its running at the temp it should be, then thats all good, again nothing you can do with that information.

    That was the point im making, and the fact that you can get the temp then its all good.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone noticed.... (Calibre Coachworks Astra)
    By Sten in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 22:20
  2. Few faults I have noticed from my astra
    By Adam in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19-12-2004, 18:18

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •