Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Turbo ports!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    RIDG3RS's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    451
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Turbo ports!

    Ok , I've made a box that is 11 1/4 qubic feet , running 2x vibe 15' (2800w) wot size turbo ports I need, was thinking 4'

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    RIDG3RS's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    451
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Bump bump bump

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    getshawty's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It depends on what you want it tuning too. Try here to help you calculate

    http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    RIDG3RS's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    451
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanx alot more to it than I thought. Wot would be a good frequency to go to ??

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Toms1989's Avatar
    Soft Top VTEC :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,356
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Depends on the music you're listening to fella?

    General ball park, go for THE most resonant frequency your sub produces. A lot of people go for somewhere in the region of 30-38hz
    FULL Black Leather Heated coupe interior for sale! £200!!!
    Click Here

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    RIDG3RS's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    451
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Don't have a certain genre. I had about 34 hz in me head some how. I have a friend who is a sound tech so gunna get him to gave a look He can set it all up. Not my expertise u see lol.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Toms1989's Avatar
    Soft Top VTEC :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,356
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RIDG3RS View Post
    Don't have a certain genre. I had about 34 hz in me head some how. I have a friend who is a sound tech so gunna get him to gave a look He can set it all up. Not my expertise u see lol.
    Theres loads to take into consideration! I tried it myself way back with a ported box, different length tubes. It'd sound flat at some parts, the port would chuff and fart, and would be hellish loud at other frequencies.

    Eventually got to a happy medium, about 38 hz.
    FULL Black Leather Heated coupe interior for sale! £200!!!
    Click Here

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    babilons10's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,784
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    just ran your subs and box through bass box pro and it says that you were to have 2 4inch ports they would need to be 22.27mm in length.
    thats tuned to 34hz with no box fill.
    and thats 11.25 qubic feet INTERNAL volume.

    what are the actual dimensions of your box? i may be able to get a print out of perfromance.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    Firstly, what model subs do you have? I wouldn't advise porting an enclosure at all unless the speakers are designed for it, or unless it says in the literature that it's fine.

    Yes, porting an enclosure will lead to a greater frequency range, but at a cost of clarity and with more power being required. As there is less air to work against (due to it flowing in/out of the port) tones are "muddier", and speaker life expectancy is reduced (as the cone can flex beyond the parameters it was designed for).

    Sealed boxes mean deeper bass, the air acts as a bumper stopping excess cone travel, and it will produce clearer tones.

    Obviously if the sub is designed for a ported enclosure then that negates the issues, but if it's not then your solution may be a bandpass enclosure like the third picture here...



    HTH
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    RIDG3RS's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    451
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    So having no ports is ok I thought that u Medes then so the excess air can be released from box.
    I'm running 2 x 15' vibe spaces off a vine monobox 2800w amp and Yh the interiour volume is 11.25 qubic feet. If I remember rightly the dimensions are 3foot by 2.5 foot by 1.5 foot

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sub box ports
    By sarge91 in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-08-2012, 23:11
  2. in car usb ports
    By southwestastra in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-10-2009, 01:52

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •