Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Installing 32bit on 64bit machine .... H E L P !

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Installing 32bit on 64bit machine .... H E L P !

    Okay dokey

    I've got a new workstation with twin super duper ATI graphics cards etc.
    It's running Windows XP Professional 64bit.

    I tried installing Just Cause 2 today, without success.
    Steam came up with an 'exception' error, and did'nt proceed.


    Can some kind soul tell me how I can do it ?

    Many thanks !

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Paul_1985's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    310
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Steam can come up with a number of issues with installing. Sometimes I think it just makes up errors lol.

    I had a problem when I installed JC 2 on my pc. Turned my machine off and back on again and tried it and it worked.
    Everything I do has total support of my wife ...... which is nice!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    vikinggriff's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    go into your game library, right click on the game in question and select properties from the menu.

    from here select the local files tab

    click verifiy the intergity of the game cache.


    this should check the entire download and redownload any corrupt files from your original download
    Vauxhall Astra Hatchback 1.9 CDTi 150 SRi+ 3dr.

    If a man says somthing in a forest and no woman is there to hear, is he still wrong?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Glacious's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    3,101
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Follow Glacious On Twitter Add Glacious on Facebook
    Your problem is neither of these.

    Just Cause 2 is the first game of its kind to REQUIRE direct X 10.

    Basically you can't play Just Cause 2 on the PC on XP you HAVE to have Vista or Windows 7 I am sorry to say.

    I ran into the same problem and read up and its non XP compatible first of its kind

    Hope this helps and soz to be barer of bad news.

    Minimum System Requirements:

    • Operating System: Microsoft Windows Vista or Windows 7 (Windows XP is unsupported)
    • Processor: Dual-core CPU with SSE3 (Athlon 64 X2 4200 / Pentium D 3GHz)
    • Graphics Card: Nvidia Geforce 8800 Series / ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro with 256MB memory or equivalent DX10 card with 256MB memory
    • Memory: 2GB RAM
    • DirectX: Microsoft DirectX 10
    • Hard Drive: 10GB of free drive space
    • Optical Drive: DVD-ROM drive
    • Sound Card: 100% DirectX 10 compatible sound card
    • Internet Connection: Internet connection required for product activation
    • Input: Keyboard and mouse (Microsoft Xbox 360 controller optional)

    Sorry to rub this is but after installing Windows 7 Extreme Edition on my PC and playing Just Cause 2 it is an awesome game all be it abit repetitive.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Pah...
    Well, thanks, even though it is bad news !
    Bummer...well I have Just Cause 1 coming, I know it'll be a worse game, but fingers crossed.

    Any other game recommendations ?
    Dont like shooting aliens any more,
    Not really a call of duty fan, cant get on with cooperative play,

    Is that 'Sniper' game any good ??

    Cheers again !

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Glacious's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    3,101
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Follow Glacious On Twitter Add Glacious on Facebook
    If you need Windows 7 cough cough PM me :P

    Anyhow the game you are referring to is ok sniping is great in slow motion I must admit but gets very boring very quickly.

    Are you into strategy games Coo ? Starcraft 2 is one of the best Single player games I have ever payed great story line and cut scenes and great fun gameplay.

    I have always loved Crysis as well thats a fun game.

    Hmm depends what you are into really but trust me look up Starcraft 2 maybe give you a game at some point.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It's my work machine....been playing games at work for donkeys !
    Back in the Doom days !!

    Loved Far Cry, Crysis, FEAR was fantastic and scary.
    Far Cry multi player with mates is brilliant !

    Leaning towards more real games now...not an alien shoot

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Glacious's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    3,101
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Follow Glacious On Twitter Add Glacious on Facebook
    Yea Fear was rather scary to say the least lol creepy little bitch of a girl in it :P

    As for games like that then hmm depends how realistic you wanna go I thought ARMA 2 looked good but its far far to realistic for me to enjoy maybe true that.

    Crysis 2 is out this year I think so well looking forward to that, to e honest not much else after looking around seems quite quiet on the PC front

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'll certainly wait for Crysis 2 then...

    Cheers and goodnight !

Similar Threads

  1. Running A 32bit Programme On A 64bit OS
    By f4af100uk in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 14:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •