Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: anyone offer some I.T help please?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    spartan80's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    anyone offer some I.T help please?

    I've got my dad's laptop here (packard bell easynote L4) which was running XP but was the sloooowest machine i've ever used so i offered to restore it for him.

    I used the system restore DVD and chose to restore windows XP, then symantec ghost started running.

    Now this has finished and a black DOS screen with

    A:\>

    has appeared, i'm assuming that A is the dvd drive as there is no floppy on this PC.

    Does anyone know what to do next??

    What shall i type to get the XP system running again?

    On my acer laptop the restore disc just ran on its own and everything worked straight away, dead easy.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    To start with, type D:\ in as a command, to see if your DVD drive is in fact D rather than A. I doubt very much that A represents your DVD drive, and almost certainly it won't if you've reverted everything back to default.

    if you can get it to say D:\ then try "Run" as a command, and see if it boots up the DVD.
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    spartan80's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks for the reply, just tried what you suggested

    typing "D:\" says "invalid drive specification"

    typing "run" says "bad command or file name"

    i also tried E:\ but the same with that

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Gnasher's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I assume once it had finished you just got the A:/ Dos prompt?

    I'd just reboot it as it looks like it's finished but not rebooted.
    2006 Astra VXR on 19's in Arden Blue
    ExhaustsUK Catback, Eibach Sportlines, DS Ultima, Roose hose kit, Forge recirculating dump valve, Full self modded SMD conversion

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    spartan80's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sorrt i didnt make it clear in my OP

    the dvd did run for 20 mins while it was loading up the files from symantec ghost.

    it got to 100% files completed then this black DOS screen appeared

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    when you turn the computer on, does it give you the option to go into BIOS?
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    spartan80's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok, i just restarted PC, just get a black screen with nothing happening.

    Restarted again and pressed f2 to get into Bios, what now?

    thanks for the help guys

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    you're in BIOS, yes?

    what drive letter is allocated to your DVD drive?
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    S-T-F-U's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,031
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    In BIOS make sure to disable the floppy drive. Even if you don't have one it should still be enabled in BIOS. See if that does anything.
    Ultra Blue/Astra MK4/1.6-16v/SXi Prodrive
    CLICK FOR MY AUTO-BIO

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    spartan80's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    my mistake, not bios, f2 goes into setup

    i rebooted, but just get black screen doing nothing.

    Rebooted again, pressed f2 to get into setup, tried 'start xp normally' but it just froze.

    rebooted again, f2 for setup, tried 'safe mode', now get loads of lines of text all like this:

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\ windows\................

    the last one starts like above, then ends with

    ...\system32\drivers\Mup.sys

    now its frozen again

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Oil on offer
    By BMAstra in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22-08-2012, 20:37
  2. Job offer
    By Gregg in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-08-2007, 19:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •