Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Coolant Level MFD

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    kev007's Avatar
    Cumbrian RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Coolant Level MFD

    I have just changed my header tank brand new GM from autovaux, as i had a leak. Coolant has been topped up and correct level, but the MFD is saying collant level. I have tried moving the sensor and plug to see if it is a bad connection. Any help

    Kev
    Where are the Cumbrian Members??
    Anyone Seen Them!

    Drives a Fiat Bravo 165 sport....

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    kev007's Avatar
    Cumbrian RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Anyone have any ideas?
    Where are the Cumbrian Members??
    Anyone Seen Them!

    Drives a Fiat Bravo 165 sport....

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Brian's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11,482
    Mentioned in
    142 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    Hi Kev,
    I don't Know for sure, but my theory is, that your computer/ecu has stored the info on removal of the tank so you may wish to try this:

    dissconect one of the battery terminals preferaby the positive for a few mins,
    reconnect, then see if it has cleared,

    If that hasn't solved your problem there is another thing you can try,
    i will advise on your results

    I'm sure Autosparks will know, and a few other techno experts

    Paula

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    afcbadam's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,573
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    ^^ never heard so much rubbish, its proberly just a faulty float inside the tank
    Astra T9 estate for sale, see my ebay link!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    KJenkins's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    257
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have had to top up my coolant level after a similar issue but I found that even though the coolant was at the correct level, after driving the car far a bit the MFD was displaying 'Coolant Level'. It worked out to be air in the system and as coolant ran around the system the level went down slightly.

    Give it another top up and you'll probably find it will be ok

    Kev
    Your car cannot handle a driver of this magnitude!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    kev007's Avatar
    Cumbrian RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    drained and topped up 3 times now. Coolant message on all time now.
    Where are the Cumbrian Members??
    Anyone Seen Them!

    Drives a Fiat Bravo 165 sport....

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Brian's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11,482
    Mentioned in
    142 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    Hi Kev I was going to give you further advice,
    But , if i get pulled down on certain replies,
    I am not going to stick my neck out, again

    If you want to know my thaughts please pm me

    I am only trying to help, and there is absaolutely no harm in trying,

    Regartds Paula

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    kev007's Avatar
    Cumbrian RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    So i have been driving around for week now and i still have coolant level on my mfd. Now i no its about £15 for a new sensor but dont want to buy one if its the bottle that i got new is the problem?? how can i work it out its the bottle????
    Where are the Cumbrian Members??
    Anyone Seen Them!

    Drives a Fiat Bravo 165 sport....

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Can't see how the bottle would cause the problem. It will be a sensor / wiring issue.

    You could try unplugging the sensor and shorting the loom out. If that clears the message, chances are the sensor has died.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    kev007's Avatar
    Cumbrian RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thats what i think but the only thing that has been changed is the bottle due to a leak. and i had no message on mfd before i fitted the new one.. Think i will have a go and short out the sensor at weekend.
    Where are the Cumbrian Members??
    Anyone Seen Them!

    Drives a Fiat Bravo 165 sport....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Coolant light is amber but coolant level and temp fine
    By GMSAstra in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-10-2015, 21:49
  2. Coolant Level
    By MadMunky in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-10-2007, 16:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •