Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Does my actuator look correct?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    shiftydave's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    810
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Does my actuator look correct?

    My Astra G has had a VXR turbo fitted to it today after being informed by a local VX dealer that the wastegate had gone on the original. Before the new turbo was fitted I had a p1106 fault code and little to no boost.

    The new one has been fitted but the fault code came straight back within minutes of leaving the garage (different one to the one who diagnosed). Also, on the way home, the car lost all power on the motorway but after switching off and on again it is fine and has not done it since. I now have p1106 and p1600 fault codes on my ecu.

    I'm not 100% convinced that the actuator on the new VXR turbo is set correctly for the Z20LET. From doing some more reading I'm also wondering whether it being set incorrectly like this could be the reason I'm getting these fault codes??

    Please see image below and let me know if:
    a) it looks correct
    b) it could be the reason for the fault codes



    I had also changed the front bcs, afm and checked boost and vacuum hoses for leaks. When I took the car back to the garage today they also tried a new MAP sensor but it made no difference.

    I'll be going back to the first dealer who diagnosed the fault tomorrow but want to rule out the actuator being set wrong before I do that.
    Europa Blue cabriolet turbo...now with VXR turbo, collins dump valve and a large number of Courtenay hoses

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    bigmansam87's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    vxr set to 7 threads from what i remember, z20let set to 4 i think

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    jafo666's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    762
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah as above mate, unless its been mapped!


  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    shiftydave's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    810
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Car has standard map. Do you mean 4 threads to the right of the bolts (in the picture) - hence is it wrong?
    Europa Blue cabriolet turbo...now with VXR turbo, collins dump valve and a large number of Courtenay hoses

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    bigmansam87's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah 4 to the right of the nuts mate, yours looks set to standard vxr spec

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    shiftydave's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    810
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cool I will see if changing it according to instructions on here as any effect in the morning. Do you reckon it could be causing the problems I mentioned?
    Europa Blue cabriolet turbo...now with VXR turbo, collins dump valve and a large number of Courtenay hoses

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    jafo666's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    762
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yes if its set too high it does cause problems and can put the car into a limp mode which limits power / boost etc.

    HTH


  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    shiftydave's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    810
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    We'll see mate! Having spent £1000 on a new turbo to have the car running only marginally better but still effectively broken has really bummed me out today. If this doesn't fix it then I don't know what's wrong with it - I've tried just about everything
    Europa Blue cabriolet turbo...now with VXR turbo, collins dump valve and a large number of Courtenay hoses

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    shiftydave's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    810
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Adjusted the actuator according to instructions on here this morning and it has made a big difference although not fixed the fault codes.

    Boost delivery is now much smoother and it's holding boost properly. Just need to figure out what's actually wrong with it now!
    Europa Blue cabriolet turbo...now with VXR turbo, collins dump valve and a large number of Courtenay hoses

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    jafo666's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    762
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Have you cleared the codes then? What codes are coming up now?


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is my actuator correct?
    By Pete_vxl in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18-06-2010, 18:51

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •