Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: A couple of airbag questions

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    DaveCoupe's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Leyland, Lancashire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,204
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)

    A couple of airbag questions

    After having AndyH pluggin his OpCom into my car at Billing to turn off my airbag light, it seems there is still a problem.

    My airbag light is constanlty on, and i thhink it's most probab;y due to the fact that i have removed my passenger air bag and seatbelt pre tensioners

    What I would like to know is:
    • Do your seatbelt pretensionrs HAVE to be connected? Surely when running aftermarket seats and harnesses, they would be unplugged
    • What can i bridge out my passnger airbag wire with to fool the airbag light?
    Cheers
    Coupe now being broken for parts
    You know the one

    Enquire within


  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    If the car has airbags/ pretensioners they have to be connected or the light will come on as you know. I believe they can all be bridged with a simple fuse so in the event of a accident the fuse will just blow
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    phil1184's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    494
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Absolutely correct, aslong as the circuit senses a resistance then all is ok according to it so an inline fuse will work a treat.
    Contact me for fault codes cleared, key & immobiliser programming etc in East Yorkshire!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    DaveCoupe's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Leyland, Lancashire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,204
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    If the car has airbags/ pretensioners they have to be connected or the light will come on as you know. I believe they can all be bridged with a simple fuse so in the event of a accident the fuse will just blow
    Quote Originally Posted by phil1184 View Post
    Absolutely correct, aslong as the circuit senses a resistance then all is ok according to it so an inline fuse will work a treat.
    Ok guys thanks. Does it matter what rating of fuse? How many amps is an airbag systed rated to?

    Also would it just be a case of soldring some thinner legs onto a blade type fuse and inserting this, like the thing you get with aftermarket steering wheels?

    Cheers
    Coupe now being broken for parts
    You know the one

    Enquire within


  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Fuse rating shouldn't matter, smaller the better IMO

    Yes you could solder legs onto a fuse if it's something you want to reverse at any time otherwise just cut the plugs off and put a blade fuse holder in it's place. Phil also mentioned a resistance so there may be a need to put a resistor in series too, no idea what value it will have to be though
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    DaveCoupe's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Leyland, Lancashire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,204
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    Fuse rating shouldn't matter, smaller the better IMO

    Yes you could solder legs onto a fuse if it's something you want to reverse at any time otherwise just cut the plugs off and put a blade fuse holder in it's place. Phil also mentioned a resistance so there may be a need to put a resistor in series too, no idea what value it will have to be though
    i think your idea sounds like the easiest way to go andy, cutting and bodging is what i do best
    Coupe now being broken for parts
    You know the one

    Enquire within


  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If i can remember correctly i think it's a 1k resistor, don't hold me to that as it was 8 years ago on an omega.
    You Might Be Able To Piss Over Me But I'm Not Going To Roll Over And Lick My Lips While You Do It

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    raedbenz's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Airbag ecu location

    hello,
    where is the airbag ecu located in an Astra MK4 2003 1.4 16V 5 Doorr hatchback?
    do u have any idea what model the airbag ecu could be, since i have seen models called BF, BH, EF, etc..

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    DaveCoupe's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Leyland, Lancashire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,204
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Right, just a quick follow up on this. I might be removing and replacing my steering wheel at some point.

    Does anyone (andy) have any more info on bridging out both my airbag sensors and possibly my seatbelt pretensioner sensors?

    cheers
    Coupe now being broken for parts
    You know the one

    Enquire within


  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ive just bridged mine without a resistor and time will tell if the light stays out!

    sadly the car wont be anywhere near this stage for a few months yet so who knows!

    the resistor sounds the best option but it can wait.....




    absolutely no help i know seeing as battery isnt connected etc but just saying to add more confusion

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Couple of Questions...
    By Finchy in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28-09-2010, 10:24
  2. couple of wax questions
    By Ben_M in forum Car Care and Detailing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-03-2010, 00:04
  3. Couple of questions
    By x! in forum Bodywork and Exterior
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2003, 09:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •