Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: quick air con question

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    astra68turbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    quick air con question

    I had my air con filled today, no leaks but its not coming out cold, when you press the air con button there is no click from the compressor but you can feel the surge of air through the vents, any ideas just hoping its not the compressor.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The aircon place should have been able to recomend where the problem was if they were any good. Swicthing the AC on will not make any difference to how the blower works apart from switch it on to speed 1 if it's off altogether

    All you can do is switch the AC on with the engine running and check for power at the compressor
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    astra68turbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Normally once the aircon button is pressed the compressor will click and you will get a small surge of cold air through the blower unit even before putting the blower on 1m my vectra and the wifes vectra does the same thing.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    dazza297's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i have exactly the same problem mate,altho i hav climate cntrol bt when i pt it onto cold the cmpresor doesnt do anythng i thnk new cmpresor 4 us mate

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    astra68turbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I was hoping it wasnt going to be that, i dont mind changing it but now ive got to get it emptied again, ill do a test on it first to make suer that it getting power to it and take it from there.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    dazza297's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i got my gas chargd today for free in kwik fit coz comp wudnt work,bt like you say it wil nd emptied again argghh!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    JK88's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,475
    Mentioned in
    9 Post(s)
    Quoted
    21 Post(s)
    Check if there is power coming to the connector on the compressor. If there is then the magnet clutch on the compressor is broken.
    You can get new one from ebay quite cheaply. It can be replaced without removing the compressor, but it will be much easier if you take the compressor out.

    http://cgi.ebay.de/Klimakompressor-M...item4aa2e735fe
    Opel Astra 1.8 Elegance Saloon '02 233k miles
    Opel Astra 1.8 Sport Caravan '99 225k miles
    Opel Astra 1.6 Ultimate Wagon '10 87k miles Click

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    glenn1967's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    are your windows shut

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-12-2006, 17:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •