Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: hazard and radio problems astravan

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    duckduckgoose's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    hazard and radio problems astravan

    well, i just bought an astravan with a few minor problems. turns out they are big problems!

    just had the oil pump repaired and gasket fitted for £300

    now i have a new problem. the hazards wont turn off at all. it started off with them staying on for 2 mins then turning off, but now they wont go off at all. If its any use, it has an aftermarket cd player which the guy before has bodged in by the looks of it, and it wont turn off ever unless you take the front fascia off. the van hasnt been crashed either i dont think

    any help would be greatfully appreciated!

    also, if anyone could send me links to them modding their vans i'd would love to see them

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Hazards on even when the cars locked up and parked up? Possibly a faulty switch

    Radio might just have the wires not swapped around or fuse in the wrong location. Is it a JVC headunit?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    duckduckgoose's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah hazards on all the time except when driving, i have to remove the fuse in order to make them stop

    and yeah its a crappy jvc headunit. ive got a new kenwood one but have no idea how to fix the problem, how much does it cost for the guys at halfords to fix it?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hazard switch, rather than pull a fuse, go to a breaker/scrapyard and get another one, easiest fix really.

    Rather than go to halfords, check your region and see if anyone closer can help you with the stereo.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    duckduckgoose's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    oh right, where is the hazard switch located? is it really an easy fix for a DIY muppet?

    im guessing im just gonna have to buy the wiring loom for a kenwood, would the wiring loom just fix it anyway?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If you dont know where the hazard switch is I suggest you stop driving !!!

    Stereo - depends on how the old ones been fitted, or as you say bodged..

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    duckduckgoose's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    lol, i realised once i had posted what i had just said! i pulled the hazard switch out and tried it again with no switch in there, but the hazards were still flashing. do i need to delve deeper into the dashboard? i just pullled the switch out with 5 pins sticking out of the back and left it out.

    it doesnt look like hes bodged it really, but i put my old mutant stereo in with the right wiring loom for the mutant headset (as it worked fine in my old mk4 astra), but there was no power going to that headunit at all.

    im very confused!!

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    duckduckgoose's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    right, got a new stereo fitted now which ive deliberately wired to be on all the time so i can listen as i put my wetsuit on in the back

    still got the problem with the hazards tho

    any other suggestions from people as to how to fix this? like i said before, i removed the hazard switch and they were still on constantly until i either started the engine or pulled the fuse out.

    someone help! its very embarassing having to pull out a fuse every time i go to work!!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Had a search on here and found others with your problem...but no solutions....

    You sure you dont have an alarm with power sounder

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Try unplugging the central locking ecu in the drivers kickpanel
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Mk4 astravan radio problem.
    By Mkuk in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2011, 19:14
  2. RAdio display gone after Hazard switch removal!
    By Glowstone in forum Electrical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29-06-2010, 23:44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •