Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Help with bringing phono's from headunit to amp

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ace275's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,627
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Help with bringing phono's from headunit to amp

    Starting my boot build, have 2x 1200Watt Vibe Amps (1 mono block, 1 4 Channel) and am running a 2AWG down the car into a 1x2AWG to 2x4AWG Splitter, then from there to each amp, then ground i am using a 4AWG Cable for each amp to ground.

    The amps all take a phono input, but my head unit is hardwired.

    I am going to use this maplins set (Just the speaker one) to take my 4X Channels from my headunit, so i have bare wires out and dont have to chop anything i have already.
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=99497


    The best thing i have thought so far is to run 6x Phono Cables down the side of the car opposing the side i am running power down. I am going to use 4x for FL, FR, RL, RR, one for SUB and one for reversing camera signal.

    As these cables are all phono, and therefore co-axial, what is the best way to connect them, to my stereo. Id rather i had some sort of adapter for the end of the phono cables to give me a pair out of each rather than coax.

    So i can connect this:

    to this:
    Astra Sold! Now its back! Sold Again! Who knows whats going on!

    Currently Running MK1 1.8 MX5 with LSD awaiting boost, and a Red UK DC2

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    ace275's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,627
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just found this but cant justify buying 2 of them just for getting phono to pair
    http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/phon...converter.html


    Just need a cheap version
    Astra Sold! Now its back! Sold Again! Who knows whats going on!

    Currently Running MK1 1.8 MX5 with LSD awaiting boost, and a Red UK DC2

  3. #3
    Status
    Online
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,744
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You can't just connect a low level input to a high level input without the correct adaptor

    IMO though if your headunit doesn;t have RCA outputs i'd upgrade to one that does
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    ace275's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,627
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its a kenwood which ive spent £200 on, so id rather not, that would be the last option

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/PC9-451-Autole...item3c9f4b220d

    Would this help me out?

    And my headunit has a 'Built in AMP' option which i can turn on/off
    Astra Sold! Now its back! Sold Again! Who knows whats going on!

    Currently Running MK1 1.8 MX5 with LSD awaiting boost, and a Red UK DC2

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    ace275's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,627
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    My amps both have a RCA Input and High Level Input option, though i dont have the harness for the high level input
    Astra Sold! Now its back! Sold Again! Who knows whats going on!

    Currently Running MK1 1.8 MX5 with LSD awaiting boost, and a Red UK DC2

  6. #6
    Status
    Online
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,744
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    If it has a option to switch the internal amp off it has to have RCA outputs. Even our cheap £50 sony headunits have RCA outputs

    Whats the model number of your headunuit?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    ace275's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,627
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Kenwood KDC-BT8041U

    Just googled it and its now down to £130.00 lol, but i did buy it 18 Months ago
    Astra Sold! Now its back! Sold Again! Who knows whats going on!

    Currently Running MK1 1.8 MX5 with LSD awaiting boost, and a Red UK DC2

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    ace275's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,627
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Maybe i should look at a pair of these, they seem to bring the gain way down to a preamp level

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SPEAKER-OUTPUT...item51933f9aa6
    Astra Sold! Now its back! Sold Again! Who knows whats going on!

    Currently Running MK1 1.8 MX5 with LSD awaiting boost, and a Red UK DC2

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    ace275's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,627
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Apparently it does have preamp out, and ive completely missed them. If it does then apologies for being a HUGE waste of your time lol.
    Astra Sold! Now its back! Sold Again! Who knows whats going on!

    Currently Running MK1 1.8 MX5 with LSD awaiting boost, and a Red UK DC2

  10. #10
    Status
    Online
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,744
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    That headunit has front and rear/ sub rca pre outs though so all you'll need is a pair or "Y" splitters

    Check page 37 http://www.kenwood-electronics.co.uk...%20BT8141U.pdf
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •