Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Scan Gauge II boost!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    scottlm's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Scan Gauge II boost!

    I have tried searching on the site cant find my answer
    What im after is have anyone been able to program there scan guage to show boost? I programmed mine and it worked fine in my old car but I have just plugged it into the Astra and I get no reading?? Does anyone know if its a different code you need to use for GM?

    Scott

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    wee_gus's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,128
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    also want to know this
    GSi

    Built not Bought

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    on the scangauge website it says it can show Manifold Pressure, but also says it's unavailable on some vehicles. Could be worth dropping them an email?
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    K3FUS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,752
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As far as I know it won't on the Z2.0Let, but it does on the 2.2 (Map pressure).

    I know Scanguage have updated thier software since mine was made.
    Tell me what you've done, not what you're going to!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    scottlm's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    This is the XGauge I used on my R26 and it worked fine, Im not even getting a reading from the MAP which is standard on the scan gauge, To anyone who knows how to use the diagnostics on the car how do you know what the car is boosting at or if its boosting surely the car must have a sensor to read boost pressure when you plug it into the computer?

    This is the code I used to program the boost on the scan gauge

    TXD: 68 6A F1 01 0B
    -or-
    TXD: 07 E0 01 0B for CAN-bus vehicles.
    RXF: 04 41 85 0B 00 00
    RXD: 28 08
    MTH: 00 91 00 64 FF 71

    This will get the absolute MAP pressure, convert it to PSI, and subtract a constant, which in my case is the average atmospheric pressure in Brandon. Subtracting the average atmospheric pressure gives a close idea of how much boost the turbo is making. If a drive has large changes in elevation or pressure the gauge can be out by a few PSI.

    The last four characters in the MTH field are an addition. To subtract, you must add the 2's complement of the number you wish to subtract. In this case, the result is being divided by 10, so the number being subtracted must also be multiplied by 10. For example:
    I want to subtract 14.3 PSI. 14.3 * 10 = 143 = 008F in hex. 2's complement of 008F is FF71. The last 4 characters in the MTH field are therefore FF71 in my case.

    Of course, pressure varies with elevation so you may need to subtract a different value. Here are the 2's complement representations of common values for pressure:
    12.0 -- FF88
    12.1 -- FF87
    12.2 -- FF86
    12.3 -- FF85
    12.4 -- FF84
    12.5 -- FF83
    12.6 -- FF82
    12.7 -- FF81
    12.8 -- FF80
    12.9 -- FF7F
    13.0 -- FF7E
    13.1 -- FF7D
    13.2 -- FF7C
    13.3 -- FF7B
    13.4 -- FF7A
    13.5 -- FF79
    13.6 -- FF78
    13.7 -- FF77
    13.8 -- FF76
    13.9 -- FF75
    14.0 -- FF74
    14.1 -- FF73
    14.2 -- FF72
    14.3 -- FF71
    14.4 -- FF70
    14.5 -- FF6F
    14.6 -- FF6E
    14.7 -- FF6D
    14.8 -- FF6C
    14.9 -- FF6B
    15.0 -- FF6A

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Windrew's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Golborne, Wigan, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,637
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    Map won't show on the zlet
    ARDEN BLUE GSI

Similar Threads

  1. Scan gauge
    By MeasorPaul in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-11-2013, 00:06
  2. scan gauge
    By dave234 in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-07-2008, 23:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •