Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Air Conditioning

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Daryl_mk4 coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    408
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Air Conditioning

    Had my air con topped up the other day,as its needed it for some time. However,its still not blowing properly cold. Its a 1.8 coupe. Has anyone else had this,and know of a cure,is it the compressor busted?

    Sorry if this is in the wrong section,but was unsure as to where it should go.

    Please help.
    REDBULL F1

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Daryl_mk4 coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    408
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Can any one help,im getting bored of having to drive in the hot weather with the window down.
    REDBULL F1

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    jay106's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    410
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i had mine done the other day now its empty i think its leaking from the front pipe so got to go and get some new seals

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Daryl_mk4 coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    408
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Wel the place i had mine done tested for leaks and they said it was fine,it was topped up and away I went. But its now only blowing mildly cool,not ice cold as it should. Didnt know if anyone could help diagnose the problem.
    REDBULL F1

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Daryl_mk4 coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    408
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Anyone help?
    REDBULL F1

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    To do a recharge properally the old gas needs to be taken out and the correct amount be weight needs to be put in. Any other way is guess work
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Daryl_mk4 coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    408
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah the guy had all the right gear. He said there was 20mg of gas in the system,and it takes 70mg in total. He gave me all the print out etc. Just dont know why its not working properly now. Was hoping someone would be able to help.
    REDBULL F1

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    houston29's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    did he pressure test it before filling it? (vacuum)

    the gas should have had a dye added, get him to have another look to identify if it has a leak, cos really the only thing that will stop air con blowing cold is lack of refrigerant.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Daryl_mk4 coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    408
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yep,he put dye in the system,and pressure tested it. (the bit of kit he had does everything for you) Everything was fine. Which is why i dont know whats wrong. There were no leaks or anything and everything happened as it should.
    REDBULL F1

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You could find a leak has developed, it's the most likely answer
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Similar Threads

  1. Air conditioning
    By myfordmike in forum Interior
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-02-2009, 07:40
  2. Air Conditioning
    By flipcjl in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-08-2003, 22:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •