Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: what pressure should my actuator move at?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    richleeson's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    what pressure should my actuator move at?

    hi, ive been loosing boost lately so i tried to test my actuator yesterday by connecting a tyre pump directly to the actuator head.

    i was wondering wat pressure wud u expect the actuator to start moving and and be fully open at? cus mine started moving as soon as i turned the pump on at like 1-2psi and it was fully open at like 5psi the gauge on my pump isnt totally accurate but it not massively out.......

    the actuator still feels relatively stiff if i move it with my hands, do u think i should get and uprated one? im supposed to be running 14.5psi

    thanks
    !Astra Coupe Turbo!
    243bhp and 334ft/lbs!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    vxrdean's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    VXR/leh turbo is 9psi

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    richleeson's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks, mines on a standard turbo, standard actuator, so maybe this is correct?
    !Astra Coupe Turbo!
    243bhp and 334ft/lbs!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Matt_GSi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,228
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Standard let turbo is set to around 8-9 and leh I thought was 14?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    vxrdean's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt_GSi View Post
    Standard let turbo is set to around 8-9 and leh I thought was 14?
    No mate the vxr turbo's actuator has a break off pressure of 9psi..

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    richleeson's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i think ur thinking of the pressure the BCS activates at, im looking at the pressure it takes to actually move my actuator at the actuator head.....
    !Astra Coupe Turbo!
    243bhp and 334ft/lbs!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Adrenalin's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Got the Z20LET with VXR Turbo and Courtenay actuator. This is the setting that's right for my car:

    When the arm starts moving around 10psi (0,7bar) it should be right.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    SilverSchoolBus's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by richleeson View Post
    hi, ive been loosing boost lately so i tried to test my actuator yesterday by connecting a tyre pump directly to the actuator head.

    i was wondering wat pressure wud u expect the actuator to start moving and and be fully open at? cus mine started moving as soon as i turned the pump on at like 1-2psi and it was fully open at like 5psi the gauge on my pump isnt totally accurate but it not massively out.......

    the actuator still feels relatively stiff if i move it with my hands, do u think i should get and uprated one? im supposed to be running 14.5psi

    thanks
    Off topic, matey, lol, I need to fit a new actuator to the bus but don't have the pump. Are they expensive? Do you know where I can get one? What is it called exactly? I tried google vaccum pump and multivac, it came up Dysons, lol. .
    Zaffy VXR| RARB | VXRacing 19s in Black |Stage 2丨 Pipercross Open Cone| 7" DVD with Sat Nav |Full Rear Sunblinds | C. Hatch Front Grille | Leds Footwell Lightings |

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Adrenalin's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Bought myself a brake bleeding kit - it includes a vacuum & pressure manual pump with gauge. Paid around 75€ in Belgium. You can find those kits in every automotive shop.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Daz coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    677
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What u need is a mighty vac....
    Titan Gold Coupe Turbo
    Stage 3.5

    Clicky Here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Should I see the actuator arm move
    By Keith-W in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-02-2011, 16:03
  2. pressure in Actuator head
    By Birchy*GSI* in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-04-2010, 14:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •