Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Help needed fitting unknown brand cd player

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    vaj3000's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Help needed fitting unknown brand cd player

    I recently was given a tape by a mate who works in the breakers yard. I would like to fit it into an mk4 1999 T reg astra however there is no make or model number on the cd player at all.

    All ive been told is that apparently it plays dvd videos as well ..a screen pops out or something.

    I have included some photos if anyone could be of any assistance


















  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Welcome mate

    I'll be honest and say i'll be surprised if that headunit works. Just looking at the power connector block shows some sort of corrosion

    The headunit wire colours look to be the same as other headunits but the permament live seems to be missing
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    vaj3000's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks for the help mate...
    If you look at the thrid and last picture you'll notice that the terminals on the actuall unit are fine and that its just that connecty thingy thats corroded.Is it not possible to find a new connecty thingy???
    Oh and that permanent power wire that u said was missning is actually lose and falls out....if your reffering to the 6th picture down

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Yes it's possible but with it being a unbranded model it's going to be difficult.
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    vaj3000's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    would it not be possible to use a similar loom that fits 16 pins???

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    vaj3000's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok lets assume these pins are working (as it doesnt look like corrosion but more like superglue) what would i need to connect this to a standard astra???? That iso adaptor???

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    astra sxi 2003's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Drives
    1.6 SXI Astra mk4, 2.0 SRI Astra mk4 & Mokka 1.7 4x4
    Location
    Witham, Essex
    Posts
    2,185
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Follow astra sxi 2003 On Twitter Add astra sxi 2003 on Facebook
    Well your kinda in luck
    Ive just dragged out my old Kenwood head unit with the loom still attached.
    It looks the same as that, and the wiring is almost the same

    if it matches up then just buy the kenwood loom and it should tie in to the Astra, plug and play
    For all things Electronic, Electrical and Automotive
    Check out my web site www.daycall.co.uk
    x2 Astra mk4 1.6 16v & a Mokka 1.7

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    vaj3000's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    darn if only there was some way i could find out for sure if it'd fit
    would the wiring layout be similar????

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    astra sxi 2003's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Drives
    1.6 SXI Astra mk4, 2.0 SRI Astra mk4 & Mokka 1.7 4x4
    Location
    Witham, Essex
    Posts
    2,185
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Follow astra sxi 2003 On Twitter Add astra sxi 2003 on Facebook
    it might be.
    Where are you based?
    For all things Electronic, Electrical and Automotive
    Check out my web site www.daycall.co.uk
    x2 Astra mk4 1.6 16v & a Mokka 1.7

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    vaj3000's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    birmingham

    i was thinking of just popping down to the local ICE shop and see if they could help.
    what about directly connecting wires together????? is that possible? somehow bypasisng the need for paticular looms

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Dvd Player And Mp3 Player Fitting Help Wanted
    By kma_0007 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2007, 08:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •