Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: f40 onto 1.7cdti?? will it work??

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    gsibell's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    f40 onto 1.7cdti?? will it work??

    hi all i think my gearbox is on its way to heaven the car is a 1.7 cdti astra but its started sounding like a remote control car!! not good.

    the querstion i want to ask is if i buy an f40 6 speed box will this fit straight onto block and would the linkage be the same?? im guessing i may have to change the clutch but i just dont want it been a silly expensive job for an extra gear. hope someone knows the answer and i appreciate you reading this thankyou
    If it aint Turbo Is got no GO GO!!!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    I think they use the M32 not the F40 on that engine

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    gsibell's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hi what is the differance though is that not for the vxr would an f40 not fit off a 1.9 cdti i only ask as there is one reletivly close to me at the right price anyone shed any light for me thankyou

    this is the one i have in mind http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VAUXHALL-F40-6...item230760be4e
    If it aint Turbo Is got no GO GO!!!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Windrew's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Golborne, Wigan, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,637
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    the m32 fits the vxr and diesel, how ever the ratio's are different to suit
    ARDEN BLUE GSI

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    gsibell's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    right ive just found out my car has an f17 box on so the f40 etc etc wont fit i just want a simple swap would the f17 fit out of a petrol and what would be the consiquences of fitting one from a petrol it seems there are quite a few available for a petrol but not for diesel but i cant seem to find out if it will cause any problems can anyone shed any light????


    thankyou
    If it aint Turbo Is got no GO GO!!!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    jiberson's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,239
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    F17 off a petrol would make the car rev heavily diesel ones have a different ratio.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Mark T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,934
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the M32 from corsa VXR fits small block engines.

    Be useless on a diesel though being close ratio.
    How Tos . Parts For Sale
    The two most life changing experiences you'll ever have. Finding Jesus, and having a baby.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    gsibell's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    if i get an f17 off a petrol what will happen then as long as i can set off and drive and still do 70 for motorway thats all im interested in really
    If it aint Turbo Is got no GO GO!!!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Mark T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,934
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you'll be off boost at 70. (about 3000 rpm) and you'll be ragging the nuts off it at 85.

    and you'll be changing gear often when accelerating.
    How Tos . Parts For Sale
    The two most life changing experiences you'll ever have. Finding Jesus, and having a baby.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    gsibell's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    may just do this for time been and get original box reconed
    If it aint Turbo Is got no GO GO!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-08-2011, 00:30
  2. all dash lights dnt work and speedo dnt work
    By sprdan in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-05-2010, 13:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •