Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MK5 CD30 mp3 ipod

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    biggus1984's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    MK5 CD30 mp3 ipod

    Hi I have recently purchased an 2007, 56 plate astra 1.6 sxi with CD30 mp3 headunit. Ideally I want to attach an mp3 player without losing the asthetics. I have no aux jack by the handbrake so as far as I can see these are the possibilities.

    1. bus port in the rear of the head unit to connect a aux in cable to?
    2. aux in jack on rear of headunit?
    3. replace headunit and get a custom face t preserve the astra look as much as poss?

    Which of these are possible? I would rather not have to replace the headunit.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    MarkG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    10,676
    Mentioned in
    14 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)
    Follow MarkG On Twitter
    I think, not sure if I am right here or not, there will be an aux-in on the back of the headunit so long as its the MP3 type ... I maybe wrong there, so don't quote me on that. Best way to check is to get some double din stereo keys and pull the stereo out to have a look.

    Again, not entirely sure on this either, but I have a feeling if its got the MP3 and aux-in, and you put an aux-in cable in it might need activating with Tech2, but again, as I said, not entirely sure.
    Astra sold ... replaced with a Skoda ... soon to be replaced with another Vauxhall

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    xplicit's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You may have aux in already installed on the headunit. If not its either to early a model or it will need Tech 2 to be activated. If its activated its quite simple to hook up and VX sell the audio lead to put next to your handbrake. All you need to do is connect three wires to the loom in the back of the CD30 then route the wire under the dash, gear shift, and drill a little hole where you want to put it, Keeping the factory look!
    Astra H 5dr 1.9 cdti (150) XP DTUK ECO 3
    Mods by Pecky! CC, CD70+Aux,Total Closure, Anti Hijack, Check Control, Bluetooth, CID startup screen

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    twin2189's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    168
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    i have the cd30 mp3 piano black and dindt have the aux in my car but had an aux wire made and plugged into the pins in the back check if you have a L R and grd
    astra j 1.7 cdti 2012 sports tourer

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    jhaigh47012's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hi, i have a cd30mps and need to know how i can attach an aux cable.

    near handbrake is a cable but i dont know what i need to get for an 3.5mm jack cable.

    this make sense lol?? probably not.

    i note you a have stated VX sell aux leads, i went and they said no..only when ordering a car from brand new!.

    Can anyone help?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Welcome mate

    I'm guessing you have the wiring below the panel but nothing above on sight?

    Before you get the wiring i'd look at getting it activated first
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    brennan247's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    425
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Would Vauxhall activate it? Or would I have to get it activated by a third party using tech 2?

    If so, can anybody provide the tech 2 walkthrough please?
    07 ASTRA MK5 1.6 VVT SXi
    Sapphire Black, 17" SRi alloys, Black Grill, Carbon Fibre Boot Strip, Smoked Side Repeaters, HEKO Wind Deflectors, Tinted Windows, RS Green Callipers & Alpine IDA-X100.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Vauxhall should do it for you, i'm sure there's a walk though on here somewhere already
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Mat88's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Cd30 mk5




    Can anyone help me identify what this plug is for? The plug is where the handbrake is.Aux is possible with cd30 head unit as i have read thread and seen a video on youtube,but they didnt show you how they connected it.if anyone at all can tell me how to do it,without suggesting get a cd30 mp3 then it will be much appreciated.
    Last edited by Mat88; 17-02-2015 at 00:22.

Similar Threads

  1. Ipod to CD30
    By ssa17WS in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 31-05-2011, 09:11
  2. CD30 Mp3 - Ipod
    By Gregg in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-05-2009, 19:25
  3. Mk5 CD30 and IPOD
    By LordNikon in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 26-01-2009, 12:48

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •