Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Key Programming

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    russ9898's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Key Programming

    Hi,

    Wondered if you might be able to help...bit of a strange one for you so bare with me.

    I’ve just bought an Astra Coupe Turbo.

    With the car came 2 different key -

    The original remote central locking key which opens the drivers door and operates the remote central locking.

    A spare non remote locking key which operates the ignition.

    I have bought the correct ignition barrel from Vauxhall that will allow me to start the ignition using the original remote central locking key.

    However....It would appear that the original remote locking key is no longer programmed to the ignition and ofcourse neither is the new key.

    Is it possible for the old (origional key) to be programmed to the car again to allow it to start the car or will i need a new blank transponder chip. If so where can i get one?

    Hope you follow all that lol

    Thanks,

    Russ

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Crunchy's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    put the key in the ignition, put the ignition on (not the engine) and press the lock unlock buttons

    after a few attempts the doors should lock then re-open, and it should be working

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Dreamer's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    85
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Put the ignition on and keep pressin lock,unlock,lock,unlock... untill the doors lock.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    russ9898's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It opens and closes the doors already but wont disable the imobiliser so that i can start the car. I presume doing the lock/unlock trick wouldnt enable the key to start the car?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Crunchy's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ahhh right the problem there will be the chip piece you need will be in the key you used for the ignition, but i could be wrong, if i am it'll be a tech2 jobby

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    russ9898's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    That sounds about right. Can the old chip piece be programmed into the ecu or will i need a new chip and if so were from?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    jiberson's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,239
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I would have thought that you have missed off the transponder pickup ring as the ecu hasnt been changed so the keys are still programmed to it. The signal from the chip in the key is not getting back to the ecu.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    russ9898's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If i were to buy a used transponder with a key fob or 2 paired up to that transponder and put the blade from my car key into that key fob would that allow the car to start?

    Im wondering if when the new barrel was fitted by the previous owner and new key programmed to it if the origional key was deleted from the ecu?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    russ9898's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sorry about this.

    Alls i want is to have the same key to open and start my car and without paying through the nose for it

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You can code a new remote fob (Does the locking and alarm) and also a new transponder.

    Where are you as someone local with OP-COM maybe able to do it for you (You will need the car pass with the security code on it)
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. programming a key
    By SunnyDee in forum Electrical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-03-2012, 13:08
  2. ECU Programming or not!
    By Rover21 in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19-02-2010, 21:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •