Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to find out what size box is best for your sub

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Kingy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,703
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    How to find out what size box is best for your sub

    i have a vibe black air 2 10" sub. I want to make a custom box for it but how do i work out what size i would need to make the box?

    Sub Spec is :

    10" (275mm) RMS Power 450 w Peak Power 1300 w
    Freq. Response 20 - 1700 hz Impedance DUAL 2 Ohm Mounting Depth 150mm Mounting Diameter 235mm

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    WHITE CHOCOLATE's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    886
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    "WHATS THE RETAIL ON ONE OF THOSE?" "MORE THAN YOU CAN AFFORD PAL . . . .888

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Kingy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,703
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks mate but thats if you already no what size you need

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    That sub looks like a freeair one so isn't designed to go into a box
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Kingy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,703
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its a vibe black air 2 mate came in one of their cbr boxes but i want a flat floor in the boot so want to make a long shallow one to go under a false floor

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    SgV1's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    388
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    closest thing i can find to your sub has a cubic capacity of .13 cubic feet

    see users manual http://www.vibeaudio.co.uk/support/m...l_blackair.pdf

    use the following websit to work out your box dimensions

    ie square box with a .13 cubic feet = w24, h12, d11, thickness 3/4 , (dimensions in inches, mdf)

    http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp#wed2

    hope this helps

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SgV1 View Post
    closest thing i can find to your sub has a cubic capacity of .13 cubic feet

    see users manual http://www.vibeaudio.co.uk/support/m...l_blackair.pdf
    That's just the amount of space the sub itself takes up.
    From that user manual:-

    So you need a box 1.0-1.5 CuFt volume. (1 Cu Ft = 1728 Cu Inches)
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Kingy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,703
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    does this change if you add a port to it ? This is the box it came in http://www.caraudiogiant.co.uk/shop/...ctive10cag.jpg

    but as said i want to put into a false floor.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Kingy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,703
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ignor that i just looked for the manual online says i need a 1.0cft ported box thanks for the help tho guys

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Those sizes I've quoted are for a sealed box.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

Similar Threads

  1. Can't find ET size?
    By yan_buys_parts in forum Chassis
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-09-2008, 11:11
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-07-2008, 21:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •