Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is my actuator set up right?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Thebug's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Is my actuator set up right?

    Can someone tell me if this is right?

    Its different to my mates car but we think his turbo has been changed to the vxr one.


  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    that looks a bit too high - even for Z20LEH models

    ZLET should have about 3-4 threads exposed, ZLEH tends to have about 6-7

    best off resetting it yourself

    basically wind the top nut out the way of the wastegate rod, wind the lower nut down then with ur finger push the wastegate part shut with ur finger, whilst still holding it there, wind the bottom nut upwards until it meets the wastegate, turn the nut 1 full turn then leave it, then wind the top nut down until it meets the wastegate.

    done

    what engine do you have?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Thebug's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GeordieBandit View Post
    that looks a bit too high - even for Z20LEH models

    ZLET should have about 3-4 threads exposed, ZLEH tends to have about 6-7

    best off resetting it yourself

    basically wind the top nut out the way of the wastegate rod, wind the lower nut down then with ur finger push the wastegate part shut with ur finger, whilst still holding it there, wind the bottom nut upwards until it meets the wastegate, turn the nut 1 full turn then leave it, then wind the top nut down until it meets the wastegate.

    done

    what engine do you have?

    Z20LET Standard Turbo

    Would that have done any damage runnng it like that?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    welsh-andy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7,176
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Thebug View Post
    Z20LET Standard Turbo

    Would that have done any damage runnng it like that?
    no,although some ppl will say different, i been running my vxr actuator standard(14psi) for a yr through 4 maps and never had an issue, the only issue i had was when i altered it the wastegate seized

    hence this arrival 2day

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Thebug's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ok i have adjusted it like GeordieBandit said above and now there seems to be some strange noises from the turbo when driving.

    Any ideas

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    welsh-andy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7,176
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    i broke my own rule, if it aint broke Y fix it. cost me new turbo for my trouble

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    well adjust it back then!!!

    it was merely a suggestion not a demand so if u dont like it then revert to how it was

Similar Threads

  1. Actuator setting - VXR turbo + VXR actuator
    By 2fast in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2010, 08:17
  2. Courtenay uprated actuator over the vxr actuator
    By Birchy*GSI* in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-10-2009, 18:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •