Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: front electric windows

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    robmarch1989's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    front electric windows

    ive just bought a full kit to convert my front windows to electric with everything including looms and just wondering if anybody has a how to as i dont want to mess it up badly

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    surely you have the instructions with the kit? no?

    i done this many moons ago with the corsa..

    kits are allot better now tho a guess..

    back then it was a simple wire up job and the hardest part was attatching the motor to the door.. its all pretty simple tho.. fire up a pic o the kit m8..

    also you might be lucky and find you already have the wire loom in the car for it ( even tho it has manual windows ) in that case it should ( i use that term loosely ) be a case of fitting the motor and then getting the correct fuses fitted and getting some OEM window switches and plugging it all up..
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Fabyoulous's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I was about to say you might aswell get new doorcards with switch in already otherwise you will have holes in the doorcards, but looking at your diary it seems your a master at retrimming lol

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Glasgow_Stu View Post
    also you might be lucky and find you already have the wire loom in the car for it ( even tho it has manual windows ) in that case it should ( i use that term loosely ) be a case of fitting the motor and then getting the correct fuses fitted and getting some OEM window switches and plugging it all up..
    Not that simple Stu, the original motors have power & earth & then get seperate up & down signals from the switches.
    The aftermarket kits tend to use the switches to just change the polarity of the drive voltage to a two wire motor to drive the window up or down.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    ahh..

    well in that case get a motor and window mech out a scrappys and fit that lol

    problem solved

    na seriously.. they are not that hard to fit using the supplied kits and looms etc.. its all down to wither u are comfident and have some knowlage a suppose..
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    robmarch1989's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    o i forgot to mention its not a kit, all the stuff is from another astra lol.

    i didnt have the motor plugs but got new looms with the correct plugs on.
    ive got an idea how to do it jus dont want to break my windows ,

    when puttin the motors in does it have to be pop rivertd back in.. or could i use small bolts?

    im already in the process of getting new door cards lol

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    ahhh..

    did you get the regulator with the motor then?

    if so just remove the window and then remove the old regulator.. replace with new one.

    IF its just the motor im not sure.. its been a while since ive stripped one down...

    for motors its always best to rivit them m8..
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    robmarch1989's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yes I got the motors with regulators. Even got the door locking mechanism with it all aswell lol

    Also having trouble get the wiring loom plug out of the door... Is there an easy way to unplug it?

Similar Threads

  1. Electric Front Windows
    By Denz.M in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2010, 14:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •