Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weird Noises and Coolant Leak (Vids/Pics)

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Weird Noises and Coolant Leak (Vids/Pics)

Engine: Z16XE - 66K(ish)

I'm not a mechanic by any means as the following will show but I will do bits myself if I have an idea of what to do

I have a few issues and looking for a bit of advice of cause and remedy, if possible. Before I mention the faults, I will say my rear silencer is blowing badly and will be replaced soon, unsure if this is linked or not. Also it could do with a full service, which will be done soon aswell. All levels are fine, inc coolant. Running temp is about 86/7. Cambelt and waterpump were done less than 5K ago, October 09.

I have no real running issues and use the car daily, slight loss of power lower down but I'm putting this down to the exhaust blowing. It does sound like a tractor though.

- First weird noise is like air escaping when you hit the accelator sharply, can't see any loose vacuum hoses. It started when my EGR went. It sounds like it's coming from around the general EGR area. I had a brand new GM EGR fitted in Jan 10. It also makes the noise when underload, albeit a slightly more metally sound like the heatshield is rubbing.

- The second weird noise is a high pitched whine coming from near the brake fluid reservoir. No idea what this is but it is irritating.

- Third issue is coolant seeping around the edges of the radiator. It's not dripping leaving a puddle when running or anything, just seems to be seeping out slowly at certain points now and again. No major loss in coolant level over the past 3 months, dipped very, very slightly but still near max. Click for bigger pics.

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)