Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Anyone knows where the speed sensor to the speedo is?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    c20let2k's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Anyone knows where the speed sensor to the speedo is?

    Lost my speedometer and got faultcode p0500..

    But my ABS, TC and ESP still works..

    Left frontwheel ABS sensor?
    Strange that i haven't lost ABS, TC aswell..

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Yes, it's derived from the left front hub on ABS equipped cars, though the speedo signal actually comes from the ABS ECU.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    c20let2k's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What could be wrong than?
    Since the ABS, TC and ESP works great but the speedo doesn't so..

    I will get the complete ABS sensor with the hub and everything at warranty since I and my dealer think that's where it's something wrong..

    I did fit the left front hub with abs and everything new about 3 months ago..

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Could be the ABS ECU has gone faulty.
    I know a couple of members have reported their ABS going faultydue to ECU's, on the forum during the past couple of months.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    c20let2k's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    But if the ECU has gone, why does the ABS and everything else work great than?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    If the speed sensor wire was shorting out it could cause this problem

    Had a new stereo fitted recently?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    c20let2k's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Only a new cd player.. but it's a couple a month back.. How??

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The standard radio has the speed pulse going to it, some aftermarket headunits can have something else there instead that could interfere with it

    You've nothing to loose removing it to see if it fixes the problem
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    c20let2k's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I could try setting back the standard cd player, have it in my mess room somewhere

    Why does it have a speed pulse? Adjusting the volume after the speed?

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Just live with no stereo for the half hour you take it on test drive

    And yes the factory stereo gets louder as you go faster
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. P0500 (Speed Sensor) - engine won't hold idle speed/stalling
    By nry in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25-06-2013, 13:23
  2. Speed sensor or calibrating speedo clocks?
    By Kev. in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-08-2011, 18:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •