Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: coolant temp sensor location

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    [ELMO]'s Avatar
    Moderator Friend
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Didcot, Oxfordshire
    Posts
    7,316
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    coolant temp sensor location

    hey guys can anyone tell me where this is on a 1.8 sport? im going to change it as i think mines on its way out
    MK5 1.7 CDTI OWNER AND AN ESTABLISHED MEMBER OF THE DARK SIDE!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    it screws into the thermostat housing

    stat is on the bottom left of the head

    u can see it in the changing the stat how-to below

    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=135213

    CTS: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Vauxhall-ASTRA...item56305fac10



    Better still - replace the Thermostat and CTS altogether as it comes in 1 unit here: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Vauxhall-Therm...item2c531abfd8

    if u do, then flush the block, rad and change coolant as per the above how-to and also this one: http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=135212

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    [ELMO]'s Avatar
    Moderator Friend
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Didcot, Oxfordshire
    Posts
    7,316
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    awesome, will give me something to do this weekend then is there anything i have to watch out for when changing/flushing everything?
    MK5 1.7 CDTI OWNER AND AN ESTABLISHED MEMBER OF THE DARK SIDE!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    nah - its straight forward - just have a gentle trickle - basically dont go overboard

    if u dont have a set of adjustable pliers then get some as theyll come in handy for all those hose clips.

    like these:

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    [ELMO]'s Avatar
    Moderator Friend
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Didcot, Oxfordshire
    Posts
    7,316
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    yea i have one of those lying about, would i need to dissconnect the battery at all? iknow some things you change require it but want to be 100% before i start
    MK5 1.7 CDTI OWNER AND AN ESTABLISHED MEMBER OF THE DARK SIDE!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    When I did my wifes I just used a deep socket and undid it.

    Lost hardly any water.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lee gsi View Post
    When I did my wifes I just used a deep socket and undid it.

    Lost hardly any water.
    yes - thats certainly achievable - although access isnt the best

    but i was advising the best course maybe to replace the entire assembly seeing as stats tend to fail on these commonly - but yes a deep socket can be used, personally i used a combi spanner last time i did one....then decided to remove the stat fully and disassemble off the car

Similar Threads

  1. Coolant temp sensor location
    By Johnwilde1 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-03-2013, 22:02
  2. Location of coolant temp sensor?
    By davemk4coupe in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-06-2009, 14:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •