Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 69

Thread: Air con problem

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    EazyDuz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Air con problem

    Ive got an 04 plate Astra and my air con doesnt seem to work.
    The button lights up when pressed and the fan comes on, and when the car is running the revs change slightly. But the air isnt cold.
    I dont know if it has ever been re gassed, probably hasnt, but the air is literally no colder at all with the air con on.
    Weather is getting hotter now so an ideal time to do it really.

    Should i take it to Kwik Fit?

    And just to be sure i tested the air con on my mums new Hyundai and it was really cold, so i know mine isnt working properly. No strange smells or anything and i have just changed the pollen filter which made no difference.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    EazyDuz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Or halfords for air con topping up?

    http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/s..._173045#Link02

    Says for £10!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    mcd840's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hello buddy, i would imagine its just needing a re-gas, personally i wouldnt bother going to kwik fit, they made a complete **** of my air con twice ( to long to go into ) i re-gassed mines last weekend with a tin of do it yourself from halfords and now its ice cold ! and you get the £10 back on the empty can. alternatively you could allways go to an air con auto specialist and have it re-gassed but there about £50-£60 but you know its getting done correct. nothing wrong with the do it yourself if it just needs a top up and the pressure gauge you get seems good and acurate.

    cheers, craig.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    EazyDuz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Oh ive read threads where Kwik Fit is recommended for air con top ups.
    I know Halfords can do it for you for a tenna but i dont know if they drain the system and get rid of all the old gas first which apparently your meant to do.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mcd840's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    probably just a few bad experiences on my part but i wont go back, as for the tenner i wouldnt immagine them draining it all, itd just be a quick top up

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    scdavis's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3,284
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    personally i wouldnt use the halfords stuff. Ok its the same as what goes in but going to a dealer of kwik fit but you cant regulate the pressure very easily plus they do a leak test.
    no point in filling up if its going to leak out in a day or so.

    I would pay the little extra and get it done professionally. I had mine regassed at VX for about £50 including the leak test and dye.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    EazyDuz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by scdavis View Post
    personally i wouldnt use the halfords stuff. Ok its the same as what goes in but going to a dealer of kwik fit but you cant regulate the pressure very easily plus they do a leak test.
    no point in filling up if its going to leak out in a day or so.

    I would pay the little extra and get it done professionally. I had mine regassed at VX for about £50 including the leak test and dye.
    I read Kwik Fit test for a leak before they fill it up. And if it doesnt improve or they cant do it you dont pay.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    jimdt's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5,338
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EazyDuz View Post
    Or halfords for air con topping up?

    http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/s..._173045#Link02

    Says for £10!
    please dont use that crap!

    take it to a specialist or kwik fit, if its just low on gas from not being used and the seals drying out they may just top it up or recharge the system. once its fixed use it at least once a month in the colder months just to recirculate the gas + oils

    better that than masking it with crap in a can then paying for it next year changing the compressor or something

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    EazyDuz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Got an appointment for Kwik Fit today, hopefully all will go well.
    My main worry is they will fill it up and charge me without realizing there is a small leak so ill lose my aircon within a month or so.
    Just hope it doesnt come to that lol

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Toms1989's Avatar
    Soft Top VTEC :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,356
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by astrasxicdti View Post
    please dont use that crap!

    take it to a specialist or kwik fit, if its just low on gas from not being used and the seals drying out they may just top it up or recharge the system. once its fixed use it at least once a month in the colder months just to recirculate the gas + oils

    better that than masking it with crap in a can then paying for it next year changing the compressor or something
    I regas and check for halfords

    Interdynamics who supply us with the R134A are the leading aircon specialists for cars in Europe and America

    I have NEVER had any problems with regasing them
    FULL Black Leather Heated coupe interior for sale! £200!!!
    Click Here

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. why does my remap cause a throttle problem and cruise control problem?
    By 22rabbits in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-08-2013, 14:50
  2. ECT problem or Idle Air Control valve problem?! =S
    By Jer7 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-12-2012, 13:50
  3. M1GST problem No. 145678,897,898.3 wierd door locking problem
    By MatG in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 30-10-2008, 18:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •