Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: P0170 fault code . . . .

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe2T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,936
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    P0170 fault code . . . .

    Recently fitted a CAT back exhaust and a couple of days had this fault code occur, Hoping it's just going to be that I may of loosened a sensor somehow, Was hoping someone might be able to clarify what this code means though and what I need to be checking???

    Cheers
    Great Minds Discuss Ideas; Average Minds Discuss Events; Small Minds Discuss People

    http://mypsn.eu.playstation.com/psn/...e/jahadley.png

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    P0170 fuel trim malfunction (bank 1)

    this could be anything from misfiring plugs/coil pack , blocked fuel/air filter to knackered airflow meter or ecu.

    check plugs etc first...

    i used to get codes after fitting the sports cat too...

    cleaned sensor and semed to clear it

    HTH
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe2T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,936
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Glasgow_Stu View Post
    P0170 fuel trim malfunction (bank 1)
    Doesn't sound good, but it means . . . ? lol
    Great Minds Discuss Ideas; Average Minds Discuss Events; Small Minds Discuss People

    http://mypsn.eu.playstation.com/psn/...e/jahadley.png

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    ^^^^^

    if you have any m8s wi the same car try swapping there coil pack wi urs etc..

    check plugs first tho
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe2T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,936
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Car was serviced last wednesday with new plugs put in so hopefully not that! Don't seem to have lost any power or anything, just have the dash light up so did the Pedal test and got P0170.
    Great Minds Discuss Ideas; Average Minds Discuss Events; Small Minds Discuss People

    http://mypsn.eu.playstation.com/psn/...e/jahadley.png

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    unplug ecu or batter for 30 mins and wipe the code. then wait and see if it reapears m8..

    "might" just be because the sensors are sooting up but im no 100% on that.. seemed to be the issue for me tho
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe2T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,936
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Yeah I tried the un-plug ECU trick this morning, didn't help though, As soon as I plugged it back in and started the engine the fault was there still.

    I'm assuming this is not likely to be related to my changing the tail end of the exhaust then???
    Great Minds Discuss Ideas; Average Minds Discuss Events; Small Minds Discuss People

    http://mypsn.eu.playstation.com/psn/...e/jahadley.png

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    seems a bit strange tbh m8..

    deff all plugs etc are fine at coilpack end?
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe2T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,936
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    I haven't checked the coilpack yet but the plugs should defo all be good as they are brand new, only been in about 5 days.

    Lost as to what else I can do, car still seems to drive fine but I do like 50 miles a day for work so don't wanna be driving it for too long with lights on etc, can't be good!
    Great Minds Discuss Ideas; Average Minds Discuss Events; Small Minds Discuss People

    http://mypsn.eu.playstation.com/psn/...e/jahadley.png

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    more likely AFM if u ask me (not that u did of course lol)

    I used to get this together with all other random ones - did u ever do the earth crimp mod? as it resolved a few rogue fault codes i kept on getting..

    half hours work - well advisable - usually just early ZLETs affected but defo worth whipping off some of the trunking to see if the crimp needs reworking

    details here: http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=117185

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. fault code p0170 ?
    By stokezaff66 in forum Zafira Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-06-2010, 18:11
  2. p0170 fault code
    By pumpkin in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 28-01-2008, 15:50
  3. Fault code P0170
    By luke79 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-03-2005, 10:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •