Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: astra mk 4 - jvc headunit

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mcd840's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    astra mk 4 - jvc headunit

    wanting to put an older jvc cd changer and head unit in my mk 4. just wanna know do i need any extra wires or will the cars loom just plug striaght in? ( i know my steering wheel cons wont work) but does anyone know which wire it is that i can cut so that the steering wheel cons stay light even without the vx headunit. my dad managed them staying light when he had the jvc unit in his vectra b. just cant mind how or which wire he cut for them to stay luminated. cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    As long as the JVC headunit has its own wiring it will plug straight in. The fact it's come out a vectra b suggests it has as that uses the same connector as the astra g

    the steering wheel controls will automatically stay illuminated with no extra wiring
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Amraam's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,506
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    As long as the JVC headunit has its own wiring it will plug straight in. The fact it's come out a vectra b suggests it has as that uses the same connector as the astra g

    the steering wheel controls will automatically stay illuminated with no extra wiring
    As autosparks says, they will stay illuminated, but they obviously won't work without the right adapter
    Arden Blue Astra VXR

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    mcd840's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    excellent, i noticed last night that the vauxhall wiring loom fits straight onto the jvc unit so i wont need a wiring adapter. i wouldnt even be able to use my steering wheel cons with it as there is no socket in the rear of the jvc unit for the adapter, its an older model radio / cass / 12 disk changer. looks the part though! im only changing it as my vx cdr 500 doesnt seem to like playing copys of cds

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mcd840's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    one quick question, what wire is it that you cut so that vx display doesnt go blank when you turn on your aftermarket headunit ? i think its a blue one somewhere but cant mind where! or if its in the first, second or third connector block (there all together though if you get me!)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You'll need to cut a red/white wire at the display mate
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    mcd840's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks mate! which connector block will that one be in? i know there all connected together but theres 3 of them if you get me! wheres best to cut this wire? up at the display itself or just the loom at the rear of the headunit?

    thanks again

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    mcd840's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    got the vx cd player out earlier and i cant see a red/white cable there, i can see a seperate red and seperate white though? kinda unsure

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    You need to locate the wire at the plug on the rear of the MFD.
    If you cut it at the head unit/ISO plug you will loose power to the aerial amp & have poor radio reception.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    mcd840's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SQ Man View Post
    You need to locate the wire at the plug on the rear of the MFD.
    If you cut it at the head unit/ISO plug you will loose power to the aerial amp & have poor radio reception.
    shit...ive allready cut at at the loom at the rear of the headunit, oh well just need to join it and cut it at the display

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Astra J headunit
    By spurs18 in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-05-2011, 17:36
  2. Dvd headunit for my astra g
    By gsi_10 in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 17:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •