Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Welder Advice

Hey everyone.

I am looking at buying a welder, I have just read the haynes welding manual which was a very good read and give me a lot of information.

I have never used a welder before but would like to be able to weld, it doesn't sound like it should be too hard to learn with a bit of practice.

I would like to get a welder that would allow me to weld pretty much anything on the car, main thing being exhausts (stainless steel) but also things like replacing arches, welding engine mounts, roll cages etc in the future.

I have had a look about and I have found this welder

SEALEY MIGHTYMIG 150 GAS & GASLESS 150AMP MIG WELDER on eBay (end time 26-Mar-10 15:25:11 GMT)

It seems to be ideal but not knowing much about welders i have no idea if it would be up to the jobs I want to do.

I dont have power in my garage yet and I am just running an extension real out everytime I want to have power, from the specs this uses about 4.5kw of power which i work out at about 18-19 amps so I would assume this isn't suitable for a welder and I will need to get some real power out to the garage.

Any tips or advice for a newbie welder would be appreciated.
    David.

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

Thumbs Up

im interested in this thread because i really want to learn how to weld, but unsure of what to buy and how to practise.

someone will be along soon with all the answers

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)